Governors' award

Our Governors’ Award is for an individual who has gone ‘above and beyond’ to put the trust values of ‘we’re kind’ and ‘we care’ into action.

The winner has been chosen by a panel of governors who were looking for an exceptional individual who is not afraid to ‘go the extra mile’ to make life better for those who need our help.

We had a fantastic response with over 150 nominations. With so many brilliant entries, it was a hard job for us to decide who the winners should be. 

With so many amazing nominations, it was impossible to find one overall winner, and so we are delighted to announce that we have joint-winners for the Governors’ Award. 


Kerin Edwards, Social Inclusion Worker, Forensic Outreach Team

Kerin supports our service users to reduce their social isolation, improve recovery and build upon their strengths in a community setting. Kerin has built sound therapeutic relationships with her clients based on mutual trust and respect. She has developed positive relationships with the service users and provided practical support on budgeting, welfare benefits and employment, involving the client with their care plans through a person-centred approach. 

She utilises her excellent partnership working skills to liaise with educational establishments, volunteer agencies, benefits agencies and carers to meet specific client needs.

Kerin is described as having a big heart and is an extremely valued member of the team. 

Kerin received 8 nominations for this award from colleagues.

Recognition Awards 2021 Governors' award 1


Helga Crowley, Cardiac Rehabilitation Exercise Specialist, Community Heart Failure Team

Helga and the team came together to decide what they could and could not do to keep the service running during the Covid lockdown. Helga wrote the risk assessment for online classes, organised functional assessments for eligible clients before the lockdown and made sure every possible event was covered. The first virtual Cardiac rehabilitation took place in April 2020, becoming part of the service offer, and as restrictions eased, the service was able to return to face-to-face classes at Queen Mary's Hospital and the Waterfront Leisure Centre. 

Helga received 7 nominations for this award, many of which were from service users. This is what one of Helga’s service users told us:

“Helga has been remarkable through the pandemic. She switched very quickly our Cardiac rehab class to an online service. She was motivated and experimented something totally new for her and for many of us. Her determination to make it work was critical for my rehabilitation after two heart attacks. For example, she agreed to shoot a video of her class so we could access it at any time later. She also showed great team spirit with her team and great empathy with each of us.”

Recognition Awards 2021 Governors' award 2

Highly commended:

Susan Atkins, Community Staff Nurse, Oval District Nursing Team

Lara Odukoya, Community Psychiatric Nurse, Bromley West PCP/ADAPT


Abbey Adeyoyin
Adeola Balogun
Adesola Farinmade
Akoko Akena
Amy Potter
Amy Wattingham
Ana Rivadulla Crespo
Andre Filipe-Sousa-Pinto
Annette Bolderstone
Arome Egwuche
Bimpe Idowu
Caroline Ben Carew
Caroline Mapstone
Carolyn Knight
Cathy Rayner
Charnjit Gill
Claire Tobias
Clare Brightwell
Clare Chivers
Dan Stratton
Dave Crone
Deana Fowle
Debbie Clifford
Debra Owen
Diane Higgins
Donve Thompson-Boy
Emily Davies
Fananidzai Hove
Fiona Mulryan
Florin Ristea
Gary Winter
Gemma Murkin
Grace John Baptiste
Grandeza De Guzman
Helga Crowley
Ida Bradford
Isatu Conteh
Jacqueline Armstrong
James Woollard
Janice Williamson
Jeff Julie-Ruiz
Jenny Ly
Jesca Gudza
Joby Briggs
Joel Parker
John Owiti
Josephine Brown
Julianna Frederick-James
Julie Langford
Kate Bernard
Kayleigh Last
Kelvin Scammell
Kerin Edwards
Kim Bash
Kirsty Fitzpatrick
Konstantina Tsoukala
Lara Odukoya
Lee Bolton
Lee Walker
Lesley Doolan
Liese Dallarda
Lindsay Gordon
Lindsay McCarthy
Lisa Imasuen
Lisa McNeil
Lisa Newsum
Liz Penn
Lorna Williams
Louise Stockdale
Lucy Cavanagh
Mariam Babatunde
Marlene Corke
Monica Crugel
Mucktarr Carew
Muraliraj Rajan
Natalie Geddis
Nic Stacey
Nyree Gledhill
Olufisayo Oke
Oluwatobi Ajewole
Parvin Magho
Patricia Conlin
Patsy Fung
Pauline Yeow
Phil Steadman
Rachel Matheson
Rebecca South
Rebecca Wall
Ruth Valland
Sarah Righelato
Shanice Enoe
Sharlyne Pascal
Stephanie Pitt
Stephen Brown
Steve Cooksley
Sue Wilkins
Sunita Arjune
Sunita Sahu
Susan Atkins
Susan Pitty-Rose
Susan Seal
Susan Wilkins
Teressa Riley
Theresa Bull
Thomas Jacob
Tom Greenslade
Tracey Lewis
Trudy Perry
Twanna Menzies Thompson
Ugochuckwu Egeonu
Yarlini Rubaseyone

Back to Recognition Awards 2021