Community Mental Health Teams for Older People Greenwich

This service provdes specialist mental health services to older
people with mental health needs in the borough of
Greenwich. The team consists of doctors, nurses,
social workers, psychologists, occupational therapists
and support workers. The service aims to
enable older people to live independently in the
community for as long as possible by providing specialist
assessment, treatment and social support.


  • Mental health services: Older people

Related Information

Memorial Hospital

View Larger Map

How to find us:

Buses: 89, 486, 244.

Trains: The nearest train station is Welling which is a bus ride away (89 and 486). You can also use Woolwich Arsenal station and take bus 244.

Car parking: There are two car parks at the Memorial Hospital site.


Community Mental Health Team (CMHT)
Memorial Hospital
Shooters Hill

SE18 3RG

Public phone number:

020 8836 8670 or 020 8836 8671

Fax number:

020 8836 8862

Details incorrect? Please let us know

We aim to ensure service listings on our website are accurate and up to date. If you see anything that is incorrect please fill in the form below to let us know.


This is a complaint regarding the incompetence of your staff, and their inability to inform family members of change of dates and times. The reason for this complaint being, I was contacted by a member of your staff and told that my mother’s yearly assessment would be taking place this week, the original date given was the 4/8/15.

I informed the caller that this was unsuitable for me to attend. I am a carer for my wife and she had a hospital appointment but as I wished to attend my mother’s meeting. We agreed that the meeting would be on Wed 5/8/15 at 3pm (a day later). I arrived at the Care Home at 1:45 and was informed that this meeting had been cancelled, however I was told that it had been cancelled a day earlier and had been re-scheduled for Wed 12/8/15 (which was NOT the date agreed nor the time given).

Hence, my complaint being that, firstly, I was not contacted and told the meeting had be cancelled and your staff member knew my telephone number as they had contacted me before. Secondly, I was told that another date had been given to the Care Home staff with no consideration to myself as to whether I could attend (due to my wife needing care). Hence, it would seem that at best your staff are incompetent and at worse deliberately trying to NOT have family member attend these meetings. I would like a valid reason why your staff are unable to tell the dates or the days of the month or unable to pick-up a telephone and call my telephone number, there can be no reason for not leaving a message as I have an answer phone. And please don't use the 'over-worked' excuse, if they are able to call the Care Home, they could have called me.

Not a good service shown by the 'TEAM' to either those in care or family members who what to know.

Dear Anthony

Thank you for letting us know about the difficulties you have experienced with the arrangements for your mother's review. I am very sorry to read that the communication from our team was inadequate and that you were inconvenienced as a result. I am aware that the community manager for the team, Elaine Newman, has contacted you to apologise and to assure you that she will pick up the issues with the staff involved.

We do value liaison with families and carers and want to hear the important information and opinions they hold to allow us to agree the best possible care and treatment plans for our service users. I am sorry that this is not the impression you have been given and will be looking into how this has happened.

Thanks again for contacting us and please do contact Elaine if you need anything further.

Kind regards

Estelle Frost
Director of Older People's Mental Health Services