Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

365 Comments

One of the worst experiences I have had through the mental health services.
Around April of this year was a time in my life I was extremely vulnerable and needed immediate help. I was set up with this service after a visit to A&E. To which at this point I was suicidal and extremely low.
From the first point of contact I felt like my whole case was un-organised, under-managed and no real duty of care was provided. Due to consultants/doctors being away or off-sick, appointments which were meant to be provided and actioned on within the first few days, were being pushed into nearly two weeks.
This was nearly two weeks from first point of contact with no treatment provided. I was being "managed" by the team through seeing someone daily or spoken with over the phone, having to answer the same question daily and expected to self-manage.

I was in a time of my life which should of been dealt with as a crisis situation.
I was eventually offered a telephone conversation with a psychiatric doctor due to the fact he and colleagues had been too busy to physically see me during this period. During this phone conversation with the doctor, I was made to feel stupid, he was rude and dismissive. This is not an acceptable way to speak to someone who is vulnerable and in a crisis. This doctor made me feel worse and I made a complaint surrounding his comments at the time.
I got so fed up of having to speak to people daily over the phone, in the end, receiving no real help or treatment I had to seek options privately to which I'm now seeing the benefits from.

Hallo

I left a message a couple of days ago on the number shown for rTMS queries at The Woodlands Unit; as I haven't heard back I am emailing to ask if my GP refers me for rTMS on the NHS for treatment-resistant depression at your Unit ( and we live outside of your borough although still in Greater London), does my GP simply write a referral letter or do they have to apply for funding first?

Many thanks for your help

Hi Clare,

Thank you for your interest in our rTMS Service. If you live outside Bexley, Bromley or Greenwich boroughs, please discuss this treatment with your GP and/or local psychiatrist.

They can apply to your local CCG for funding and once this is in place they can make a referral to our service. If you have medical insurance which would cover this treatment this may also be an option.

One of our managers is going to contact you in case you have further questions.

Kind regards

Rachel Matheson
Service Manager for Mental Health
Greenwich Directorate

Looking through desperately a few months ago. Found your NVR guidelines. It has been a wonderful aid in managing my crisis, can't recommend it enough to parents in crisis with aggressive or strong willed violent temper children.
Well done for this guidelines. More details on meetings and resolutions will be appreciated.

Christine.

Dear Christine

Thank you kindly for your feedback - we are really pleased that the NVR material was useful to you.

We would be more than happy to talk to you about other parenting support in Greenwich CAMHS and in the borough.

Please do not hesitate to contact Pete Brown, our parenting lead, on 0203 260 5211 if you require any further information and again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Sheena Gohal
Greenwich CAMHS Operational Manager

The nurses on norman are doing their best but the lack of any activities here are making it really hard for everyone. Their are a couple of notices up about groups but they havent taken place since ive been in. The activity room is virtually empty and is kept locked as apparently there aren't enough staff to have it open. There are jigsaw puzzles but the boards are missing. Last time I was in there was an activity coordinator on the ward who made a really difficult time a bit easier as you could be distracted at least for a while from knowing you are locked in and in hospital

Thank you for your comment. I was sorry to hear about your experience with us and have discussed your message with Lawrence Yong, the unit matron. He has met with colleagues today and they talked about how they might be able to provide more activities on Norman Ward. We have plans to refresh the structured programme and also to recruit ward volunteers who will be able to play games or chat with patients .

In the meantime, the ward manager will ensure that available activities are discussed in the ward community meetings and that our patients are invited to attend. More puzzles are being ordered too as you are right to point out that parts are missing.

Your message was anonymous, but if you would like to make yourself known to the ward manager or matron, they would be happy to see how we can help further.

With best wishes
Estelle Frost,
Bromley Service Director

Utterly appalled! Why close down so many centres and why the lack of consultation or communication? I just discovered the Willows has been closed today and the Beacon. Thankfully I passed my driving test in June this year so I can travel a bit further but what about those who don't drive? If I hadn't have passed my test this would have totally screwed me over as these are the only two easily accessible by public transport. Clearly whoever is behind these changes hasn't had to transport a newborn/young baby on public transport and then walk a fair distance in the rain or freezing cold! And I agree with other's, quite a few of the new sites are not fantastic for parking. How is this an improved service! Sounds like budget cuts to me unless the "improvements" you mention are that you are opening more clinics?

Dear Gemma

Thank you for your email. Other service users share your view, but sadly Beckenham Beacon and The Willows were retained by the previous provider for their own services.

Fortunately we have now opened a replacement clinic close to Beckenham Beacon, it is at the Neighbourhood Church on Cromwell Road. This clinic opened on Thursday 30th November from 1.30 pm until 3.30 pm and will be held weekly from now onwards. The Neighbourhood Church also hosts a Baby Café for breast feeding support.

We are also still looking for venues in Orpington, we are aware that parking is becoming increasingly difficult in Bromley and for this reason we are looking for venues close to bus routes.

Oxleas has been commissioned to deliver a service particularly focussing on the Children and Family Centres in Bromley; these venues are already established and we are delighted to be able to work with them and have placed the majority of our Health Advice sessions in these locations, which we hope will introduce families to all the other services available to them through Children and Family Centres.

We hope that working with our partners in Bromley will lead to better support and care for families. We are still offering home visits especially in late pregnancy and in the first few weeks after birth, and after this 1 and 2 year developmental assessments.

Thank you for contacting us to raise your concerns, please be assured that we are keen to improve our services based on your feedback

Kind regards

Helen Day Barnes
Service Manager
Public Health Nursing Services

i hope you dont mind me saying the car park at princess royal hospital in Bromley is far to small , even the dear staff are using the visitors side , please make it bigger or let us know where else to park

Dear Shaun

Thank you for your comments.

Unfortunately Oxleas do not own the site - the Princess Royal University Hospital (PRU) is a King's College Hospital NHS Trust site and you may like to contact the PALS team at the PRU with your feedback.

Their email address is kch-tr.palskent@nhs.net

Kind regards

Helen
Oxleas PALS team

I'm currently in hospital at green parks and I am not well. I have a really strong cows milk allergy and unfortunately I keep going without food. The staff are not trained to understand allergies and apparently are not equipped to cater for anyone with allergies on a weekend despite the fact I am 10 weeks pregnant. I am so hungry!

Dear Anna

Thank you for your comment regarding your dietary requirements.

I am aware that Lawrence Yong, Modern Matron, has now met with you to discuss your concerns and that measures have now been put in place in response.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Regards

Adrian Dorney
Associate Director

So disappointed re. closure of Beacon clinics and continued downgrading of health visitor service - which is priceless (no doubt the problem - no way to index its value). I'm sure it's just a rumour but the incredibly insulting word on the street is Oxleas was happy to close down clinics in areas considered too 'yummy mummy' to need services. The repeated claim that the rooms at the Beacon were no longer available rings true to nobody, however, so it's little wonder such rumours abound.

Thank you for your webpage comment.

Oxleas has been commissioned to deliver a service particularly focussing on the Children and Family centres in Bromley, these venues are already established and we are delighted to be able to work with them and have placed the majority of our Health Advice sessions in these locations, which we hope will introduce families to all the other services available to them through Children and Family centres.

A number of clinic venues were retained by the previous provider when we took over the service in October, the clinic room at Beckenham Beacon has also been retained. We have requested of the landlord there for another suitable space, and have been assured there is none available for us to rent. However we are very pleased to be able to tell you that we have found another venue close by in the Neighbourhood Church, on Cromwell Road which also hosts a Baby Café for breast feeding support. This clinic opens next week on Thursday 30th November from 1.30 pm until 3.30 pm.

Our health visitors will continue to offer antenatal, new birth and 6 week post-delivery visits and contacts to all mothers, and 1 and 2 to 2 years 6 months year developmental checks to all babies and toddlers.

Kind regards

Helen Day Barnes
Service Manager
Public Health Nursing Services

After waiting months for treatment, and being bandied about different mental health "services" for months and months as no one knew what to do with me, I was finally offered treatment at Oxleas The Heights.

The treatment lasted a few weeks, but the issues that originally inspired my loved ones to encourage me to go were never really addressed, almost like they were "too serious" for the therapist to want to broach. Most weeks I was shown a drawing or chart and my feelings compartmentalised into subcategories. After the initial few sessions it was decided that I should increase to 20 weekly sessions, however after about five of these she changed her mind and decided that I didn't need therapy at all. So I was shown the same chart I was shown every week and sent packing with a "Look after yourself," and a referral to Greenwich Time To Talk; a service which had already refused me months before.

I have come away from treatment having gained nothing, feeling as lost and hopeless as I did when I first sought it out and would not recommend it to anyone feeling suicidal or any major depression, not least because of the emotional drain and trauma of all the hoops, rejections and queues you have to go through to even get it.

I can only agree with the other comments. My local clinic (the Willows in Chislehurst) was closed since Oxleas have taken over. I don't know why since it was always well attended. I was able to get there by public transport so no issues with parking. Now my nearest clinic is at Crown Medical Centre which is not easily accessible by public transport and the parking situation is unacceptable - it is always very busy and you get a ticket immediately if you park where you shouldn't. It puts me off getting my baby weighed and if I need help I will just go to my GP in future. The clinic is so busy all the time it takes ages to be seen and the room is so small it's impossible to have a private conversation. I've also not had a visit from the HV after my baby was born - it's my second so I feel more confident this time around but I hope this doesn't also happen to first time mums because many need the support in those early days!

Dear Anna

Thank you for sending me your comments about the Crown Medical Clinic. Oxleas started providing the Health Visiting service on 1st October, at this time not all the buildings or rooms previously used were made available to us. The Willows clinic has been retained by the current tenant and will be used for other services.

To help with this we have extended our clinic times in the Children and Family centres, we are starting a new weighing clinic at Crown Medical Centre next week on Thursday afternoons from 1.30 pm. We are looking for an alternative local venue for the Monday clinic and we are opening a new venue in the Neighbourhood Church, Cromwell Road, Beckenham on 30th November, 1.30pm to 3.30pm.

The clinic timetable is available to see on the service page - you are welcome to attend any clinic we are running in the borough.

The Orpington health visiting team have arranged your home visit following the birth of your baby.

Thank you again for contacting us to raise these issues; feedback is really important to us and will help us make improvements to the service.

Kind regards

Helen Day Barnes
Service Manager
Public Health Nursing Services

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.