Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

290 Comments

Good afternoon,

My son has just turned 13 months old and I haven't received any of the letters or emails with the information to assess his development and progress as it is described in answers above.

I am aware that unfortunately, and unlike other boroughs, greenwich has decided to eliminate the one year review. It seems that the new replacing service is not working as expected as communications are poor. Can you please advise on how to proceed?

Dear Nerea,

I am sorry to hear that you have not yet received the 10-12 month information email or letter.

I will look into this for you, and respond privately.

In the meantime, you are very welcome to bring your son to any of our Health Advice Drop In sessions, to see the nursery nurse or health visitor.

The nearest nursery nurse led drop in sessions for you are:

Quaggy Children's Centre, Orchard Hill SE13 7QZ Tuesday 9.30 - 12.00

Robert Owen Children's Centre, Commerell Street SE10 0EA

If you usually use one of these Children's Centres, please check their timetables, as they do close for 1-2 weeks during the summer holiday.

There is also a health visitor advice drop in at Sherington Children's Centre, Wyndcliff Road SE7 7JP.

This is on Wednesdays 9.30 - 12.00, and the Children's Centre will not be closing during the summer.

Kind regards

Ellen Shelly
Head of Public Health Nursing 0-4 years

My husband and I met with Isabella at discovery centre when our baby boy was just a few weeks old! We had concerns about feeding and he was already diagnosed with tongue tie. Isabella showed different feeding positions which helped our baby to get more milk despite the tongue tie getting in the way. We were basically giving more formular between the feeds but after meeting Isabella we cut down on formular and baby had more breastmilk.
Tongue tie: She contacted kings college tongue tie clinic and booked our son for the procedure, despite waiting for nearly three weeks to be seen at kings, the nurses were great and the procedure successful thanks to Isabella.

Isabella treated us mostly me as my husband only attended twice, with utter most respect. She is very professional and thorough. I personally work in health care sector myself but i have never come across someone so dedicated, doing what she does with passion and she actually knows what she is doing.
She s never ignored me at any time when she is with another mum/family. She also utilizes her time very well.
I can say in a nutshell that Isabella made breast feeding for me most enjoyable. I wish all healthcare professionals can work similarly like her then we will have better NHS!

Really good place to stay and the staff are amazing in every way possible.

I was looked after by staff at Oxleas House recently after I became ill whilst in London on a work trip. The staff could not have been more amazing and I really appreciate the help they gave me. They made sure I was safe, and even washed my wet clothing for me. My care was arranged promptly and I was transferred to a ward back home in Dundee. I can't thank them enough!!

Dear Angela

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of being an inpatient at Oxleas House. We are really pleased that you had such a positive stay and that your transfer back to Scotland went smoothly.

Kind regards

Iain Dimond
Director of Greenwich Adult Services and Trustwide Learning Disability Services

My daughter is over 13 months old now and I haven't heard anything from my health visitors with regards to her 1 year check. I've even tried to find the questionnaire so that I can just do it myself to check that she is doing what she should be doing but can't find it. I don't understand why the health checks are even included in the red book now as none of them are done, My GP done her 6-8 week check but says she can't do the 1 year check. This service has gone down hill with all the cuts, I feel sorry for first time parents.

Dear Rebecca

Thank you for posting your comment on the Oxleas webpage . The Bexley health visiting service is now being provided by Bromley Healthcare, we have passed your comments on to them. Their contact details are:

Tel: 0300 330 5777
Email: bromh.bexley0to19@nhs.net

Kind regards

Helen Day Barnes
Service Manager
Public Health Nursing Services

How can I get to a diabetes clinic. My GP isn't much help. When I asked him about one he just said oh, why don't you start one yourself. Then carried on telling me I was going to have a stroke, heart attack, amputations and go blind. My stress levels go sky high when I am due to see him. Why can't I see someone else. I am really not happy having to see him.

why cant people who see nhs pyschiatrists at ferryview and elsewhere pay 20 pound a week to see a pysch,it makes sense really,then we don't have to wait 6 weeks or 3 months to see a pysch then.couldnt there be a meeting about it and also ask patients about it has well.its also helpful etc to see someone once a week you know and will make things easier on the person,instead of making them wait and then they have to go to a and e when they are feeling in a bad way,even pay the care co ordinater has well that people have got inbetween,so hope this is a good idea. I don't fancy waiting 3 hours in a and e like I did today.physchs ,doctors etc don't understand people with mental health problems,has they would understand our pain and suffering that we go through. bye for now, tina

Hi, my baby is now 13 months old and I have not received any letter or email regarding her 12 months review. I live in thamesmead, can u please tell me where can I get my baby checked over and measured?

Dear Kanwal,

Thank you for taking the time to post your query on our site.

I have responded to you privately, and hope that you are satisfied with the response.

Our service is moving to a system of using mainly email to communicate with families, however this is only possible where we have an up to date email address.

I was sorry to hear that you had not received the information we send to families when their baby is aged between 10-12 months.

According to our records, a letter was sent to you on 19th June, with a hard copy of our 10-12 month information email. This is a little later than we would have hoped for, and is because we did not hold an up to date email address for you.

I have now added your email address to our records, but it would be very helpful if you could advise the service if you change your email address, which will hopefully avoid you missing any other communications from the service.

I have sent you a copy of the timetable for our Health Advice Drop-in Sessions. We offer 15 drop-ins per week, across Greenwich, and you are welcome to attend any of these.

I have also sent you a copy of the email we send out to families when their baby is aged 10-12 months, with information, and the link to our Parent Online webpage where you will find information about child health and development, health promotion information or parents, and details of our health advice drop ins. You can also find this by Googling 'Greenwich Health Visiting'.

The Drop in sessions that are likely to be nearest to you are

Discovery Children's Centre, Battery Road SE28 Monday 12.30 - 3.30
Abbey Wood Children's Centre, Dahlia Road SE2 Wednesday 12.30 - 3.30
Waterways Children's Centre, Bentham Road SE28 Friday 12.00 - 3.00

At the Health Advice drop in, you can discuss your baby's health and developmental progress, and have your baby weighed if you wish. We follow the recommendation that length is not measured at 10-12 months, unless there is a concern about the baby's growth.

Ellen Shelly
Head of Public Health Nursing 0-4 years

Would like to comment about the negative experience my son had with Time to Talk last year. He plucked up courage after many months of depression to contact the clinic for help. He was very nervous but went along for his first appointment, only to be told that the counsellor couldn't help as he binge drinks occasionally (only when depressed). The counsellor suggested he contact AA instead! I am now totally unable to get him to seek any help whatsoever which I am angry about, however we are dealing with this as a family and making slow progress, no thanks to the service, which caused him even more emotional distress.

Dear Anne

I am sorry to hear that your son's experience of Greenwich Time To Talk was negative.

We will ask one of the clinical leads from the team to contact him to discuss further.

Kind regards

Iain Dimond
Director of Greenwich Adult Services and Trustwide Learning Disability Services

I've noticed a few comments re coil fitting (or lack of). I am 60 years old and have a merena coil fitted which my new doctor has advised me to have removed. She referred me to your clinic as my surgery does not offer this service. Could you confirm whether or not this service is offered at your clinic as I would like to book an appointment?

Regards,

Anne

Dear Anne

Thank you for your enquiry regarding coil removal. We do not hold appointment clinics for this but it can be done in our walk-in clinic at Market Street; the hours are listed on the website.

If you require any further information please contact one of our admin team on 020 8301 8920 option 4.

Kind regards

Lynda Gribbon
Office/Administration Manager

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.