Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

Please note, the website comments section is not a crisis service, and is not monitored out-of-hours.

Comments are moderated and it may take more than 48 hours for a response to be posted. If you need help in a crisis, please visit http://oxleas.nhs.uk/advice-and-guidance/how-to-get-help/

If you need to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS), you can find contact details here: http://oxleas.nhs.uk/your-views/make-a-complaint/patient-advice-and-liaison-ser/​

781 Comments

Hi,

I have been calling constantly for the past 2 days but the phone keeps cutting out after 5 mins. I need to speak to someone urgently please.

Thanks
Alex

Dear Alex

Thank you for your comment, we apologise that there is a delay in getting through to the service.

The call system only allows a 5-minute wait and after this time the call cuts off. We are experiencing high call volumes due to changes in the way the service is being delivered due to the pandemic, and we would recommend that it is best to keep calling back until you can get through.

Kind regards

Angie Miller
Service Manager

My dad became unwell over the NYE/NYD weekend.. I was very disappointed with 111 service and was unsure how to proceed as I had very limited options available .. Due to health issues going to hospital was not an option.. I called the Rapid Response team expecting to be met with a long drawn out automated response or a call taker who is unable to deviate from their pre written prompt card...The phone was answered straight away by a nurse who was helpful ..very professional .. And reassuring..I can't begin to describe how relieved I was.
This lady then took all appropriate details and arranged to see my dad the following morning.
Over the course of the weekend she liaised with my GP and returned to see my dad for a second time to check on his condition. On each occasion she checked my dad thoroughly.. always kind and professional and very reassuring ..
I cannot praise her enough. If she represents the quality and professionalism of the rest of the Bexley team then we are lucky to have such a valuable resource available to us.
Thankyou again for your kindness and care.

Dear Eve

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the care your father received from our Rapid Response service .

Your comments have been passed on to the team, who I know will be delighted to hear how much you valued their support during the new year period.

On behalf of the team we send our best wishes to your father for his ongoing recuperation.

Lisa Cooper
Associate Director Adult Community Services
Bexley Care Directorate

Just want to say a massive thank you to all the staff on Betts Ward, particularly Elsie who has been my primary nurse on both my admissions who gave me so much care and made me feel at ease every single day I saw her and to Janine who always sat with me and calmed me down when things got to much.

The staff on Betts deserve a medal, truly have touched my heart. X

I have been calling today and last week to make an appointment and everytime I call it rings for 5 minutes and then cuts off

Dear Alex

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing difficulties as well. Please see our reply to the previous comment below as this explains our situation currently.

We have also contacted you today to ensure that you are helped in a timely manner.

Kind regards

Angie Miller
Service Manager

Hi,
I have tried and tried to book appointment on phone but no response, its says you can call to book appointment between 9.30 am till 4.30 pm .
Please is any other specific time to call cos i called and press one but nobody pick my call at other end please I need to book appointment to remove my implant please
Thanks

Dear Kemi

We are sorry you are experiencing difficulties with getting through to the team, the phones are working. The phones keep callers in a queue and put you though to the next available person. Unfortunately, if there is a long queue, after a while the call is cut off; we are working to find a better solution for this.

The issue is due to an exceptionally high number of calls. We have noticed that calls are being connected in under 1 minute and we apologise for the difficulties experienced.

The team have contacted you directly to ensure you can be assisted.

Kind regards

Angie Miller
Service Manager

was well cared for and informed of all information . After care brilliant thank you

Dear Christine

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is always good to get positive feedback and I will make sure your comments are shared with the team.

Kind regards

Helen
Greenwich Service Director

I've been waiting for an adult assessment for going on 3 years since the first GP referral. When I had my initial screening, the person who called me from Bromley Oxleas NHS Trust didn't know I hadn't taken the questionnaire. Another 3 month wait. Then I received a letter in July 2019 saying the wait would be 12-14 months for my final assessment and they would let me know if there would be any delays to my wait. Fine. Obviously coronavirus happened, delays are expected. Now we are in December and I've had no contact from Oxleas. I called back in October to ask what the situation would be, was told someone would call me back. No one did. I have since tried to call a number of times to find out if I'm even still on the waiting list and what kind of wait I can expect now and the call has been disconnected 3 times. I'm at my wit's end. I can't get the help I need until I get my assessment and it feels like I'm just being left behind. This service is absolutely disappointing and incompetent from my experience. I just need help.

Dear Kat

Thank you for contacting us about your referral. We are concerned to hear the experience you have had. From the information you have provided we have endeavoured to identify the service that you have been referred to and a representative of that team will be contacting you by tomorrow on the number you have given to get more detail and to look into how we can support you and respond to your concerns.

Regards

Adrian Dorney
Associate Director
Bromley Directorate

Sabrina and her team have provided a fantastic service and support for my 82yr old mother in law. She was discharged from hospital 24hrs after a hip replacement with no thought given to how she would manage at home.

Sabrina visited promptly, provided equipment the same day, gave kindness, guidance and practical advice on everything she needed to know, and gave my mother in law the confidence to progress through the first stages at home. We are so grateful for her care and support. Without this service, we would not have been able to manage . A very big thank you.

Dear Jill

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your mother in law's care from the JET team and particularly from Sabrina one of our Physiotherapists. We really value receiving feedback and it is fantastic to hear what a difference the service has made for you and your family.

We will make sure we pass your comments on to the team, and to Sabrina in particular.

On behalf of the JET team and Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust we wish your mother-in-law all the best for a speedy recovery.

Thank you,

Rachel Matheson
Associate Director

I have had two hospital admissions at Oxleas House in the past. I was on Shrewsbury ward and then Maryon ward. I will say that the staff are very grumpy, moody, loud, and unapproachable. It's not a kind of environment I would like to be in again and even when my mental health deteriorates the last option that I want is to be admitted in a place like this where are staff can be scary at times and treat you like your in prison (agreed with the comment above) Staff will handle in ways which are not appropriate and try show their authority and power in a condescending manor not realising that it could upset others and being rude to others when you have been kind to them. I have had staff just walk in my room without knocking, snatch things out of my hand. I don't like the doctors either. They think they know everything and then act like they are the best in the hospital walking around and rushing around like lunatics ignoring other patients when they have said "hello" or "hi" I felt at times the staff were unfair and always wanted things their way. I have noticed one staff member that worked on shift nights on Shrewsbury ward to be extremely arrogant and rude and the way she spoke to me was not very nice. You can't treat people like that it is ok to treat people the way you want to treat them oh yes, because your trained staff members who think they know everything. We are unwell patients who need proper care and treatment not staff members being rude and uncaring. I will say though they always seem to be alert though I have never had any issues with the staff on the wards not being vigilant at their jobs they are provided e.g. checking the room at night or checking to see if other people are ok and well. They could do with more mental health training around autism though and could be more compassionate and kinder. The ward manager is unpleasant I have met him before and he is very rude the way he speaks to people and other people who are staying on the ward including staff.

Dear Jay

Thank you for your concerns and we are sorry to hear of that experience. Your team has been alerted and they will be in touch today to discuss your concerns.

Best wishes

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director

It took 4 years before your colleagues/team at the Phoenix centre acknowledged that my child needed support. Finally he has been acknowledged as having ADHD and now I have to play games to get some kind of support. He is battling severe anxiety but if your whole area had intervened earlier then it wouldn't be this bad.

I called the other number to obtain support - Bromley Wellbeing and they didnt even pick up. Just as useless

Disgusted that I cannot even get a referral into this miserable area.

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.