Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

426 Comments

my son has just turned 24 months old, and i would like to know when and where is the 2 year check up for him. we live SE18, and I havent received any information about it.

Thanks

This service is too valuable to be cut back. The service it provides to first time mums is invaluable. The clinics that are now provided are too busy and don’t offer the privacy required to have confidential conversations. Through no fault of the health visitors it feels that the drop in clinics are now a baby weighing service only.

Dear Lorraine

I'm sorry you haven't managed to talk to me this morning, but thank you for your e mail this is very helpful information.
We are looking at our clinic settings at the moment. I’ll make sure your comments are given to my lead Health Visitors so they can make changes to the room layout if this is possible, or rent additional space.

It’s not likely that we can relocate the clinic; our commissioners are most keen that we hold services in the six Children and Family centres in the borough. The Children’s Centres have been located in the most relatively deprived areas of the borough to support those local communities.

However you can attend any clinic you like and if you do drive, you might find the Orpington Village hall session easier. It’s on Mondays, 1.15 to 3.15 , parking in Walnuts or Tesco’s . Postcode is BR6 0NN.

I agree with you that the wording of the 10 to 12 month invitation needs revising, and we are doing this at the moment.

We would like everyone to make an appointment, but wanted the offer of a drop in consultation at a health advice session to be an alternative for families who like yourself have had a baby before and are confident that their child is progressing normally.

I'm glad that with your second baby it’s been going well so far. Your next formal check we offer would be at 24 to 30 months, we will send a letter nearer the time. At the moment we are asking you to call us to book an appointment for this, and we then send you the correct age appropriate questionnaire to complete, which we refer to at the check.

If you would like me to call you, please do send me your phone number.

Again, thank you for your very helpful feedback and comments.

Kind regards

Helen Day Barnes
Service Manager

helen.day-barnes@nhs.net

About 8 years ago I was under here as I tried to take my own life because my partner walked out on me and other problems then my children was taken into care I was on strong doses of antidepressants and sleeping tablets barely managing to function and they sent a letter saying I was capable of having an assessment done on me by social services. Won’t ever use them again

Dear Susan

I was sorry to read of your experiences eight years ago; we are always trying to learn from the experiences of people who use our services, both current and historic, to improve what we provide.

If you would like to meet with me to discuss what happened I would happily arrange this, please contact me by the email address below or telephone.

Kind regards

David Shaer
Service Manager

Tel: 0208 319 7208
Email: oxl-tr.bexleycareadmin@nhs.net

Communications the centre of any therapeutic relationship. An experience with Oxleas this morning 28th April 2018 shows a worrying culture around communication thats seeping into NHS commissioned services.

When a professional is asked what the visiting times for a ward are, they can either tell you, or, say they don't know, let me go check. That's OK, no one can be expected to know every detail of every policy in their work place, and most humans cannot always recall facts. This is what it means to be human.

It becomes a very different matter, when information about ward visiting times, is refused until your name and a patient name are disclosed. What if you are calling on behalf of someone else? Visiting times are public domain information. Its not privileged information.

Patients staff and public should have open access to public domain information regarding hospital visiting times. One expects staff to have no inhibitions about sharing such obviously public information. When staff have hang ups about such simple information its cause for concern.

A fortnight ago I found an elderly man wandering in the street who had no recall of where he was, or, where he lived. It was cold he was wearing pajamas and had no shoes. I took him to A&E in my car, provided the reception with my name and contact details, and the name he gave me on a slip of paper. This was for me to recieve reassurance regarding him getting home safely (either from the hospital or his carer/relative). No one provided such. The current culture seems to avail no one the human capacity for such a humane socially cohesive communication. Communication in NHS funded services should be a tool for humanising, not privileging perceived status.

Public domain information should not be used as a bargaining chip. The interaction this morning with Oxleas raises worrying questions regarding how value is accorded to information and communication in the culture of Oxleas therapeutic relationships.

Dear Paul

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear about your experience.

We are unable to provide any updates relating to a patient's care except to their nearest relatives.

We understand that this may be difficult but we need to adhere to data protection laws and protect patient confidentiality.

We are sorry that no one gave you the information relating to visiting times for our wards. We have raised this issue with Joanne George, Oxleas House Matron, who will raise it with her nursing team and clarify the position.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to us.

Kind regards

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director, Greenwich Mental Health Services

I’ve been waiting for silver cloud for months and still nothing.

They mean well but don’t have the facilities or man power it seems to actually help.

Wish the NHS better funded mental health services like this.

Dear Alice

I am sorry that you have been waiting for input from the Greenwich Time To Talk team for so long.

We have had an increase in our waiting times due to high demand on the service. This wait is currently about 60 days for Silvercloud. So I am sure you will be offered an appointment soon.

Best wishes

Katy Grazebrook
Clinical Lead, Greenwich Time To Talk

My son has been referred to your service, but is getting no response. As a family we are at a loss of how to deal with him. His condition is rapidly declining. Just want my son assessed and to find out how we as a family can help him. I called your response team and was just rebuffed.
Please help.

Dear Mrs M

Thank you for contacting us regarding your son’s experience of using our service.

We are sorry to hear that the experience has not been a positive one. We value our patients and families' feedback as it helps us improve our services.

Jackie Waghorn, Crisis Resolution and Home Treatment team Manager (020 8836 6678 / jackiewaghorn@nhs.net), will contact you to discuss ways in which we can help.

Kind regards

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director, Greenwich Mental Health Services

I would highly recommend Greenwich Time To Talk having felt thoroughly supported throughout my treatment.
I self-referred after seeking advice from my GP and Alanna held my initial consultation over the telephone.
She was incredibly kind and understanding as she guided me through her questions and this helped put me at ease.
It was confirmed I had symptoms of anxiety and depression and was referred to Benjamin for 1:1 CBT.
Ben was consistently very supportive, detailed, professional and compassionate in his approach.
I felt listened to, understood and that my recovery was important. We covered many aspects of my personal history which contributed to my mental welfare issues as well as the immediate circumstances which were the catalyst for me requiring professional help.
This gave me a much clearer understanding of my own personality and behaviours which I found very useful.
We worked through a variety of strategies to enable to me deal with trigger scenarios and the ‘homework’ between each session helped underpin Ben’s advice and allowed me to work on those techniques.
I was also put in touch with Natasha for Employment Support guidance. Once again, the culture of kindness and understanding was very evident as well as Natasha’s advice proving useful on a practical level.

CBT is by no means a magic wand; it does require the willpower and commitment to make a positive change by challenging default thought processes. For me, this will take continued practice now my therapy sessions have concluded but I feel much more positive and confident that I have the ‘tools’ to help me face the future.
I am incredibly lucky to have accessed the Greenwich Time To Talk service and would like to say a very big THANK YOU to Ben, Natasha and Alanna.

My father has been admitted to your inpatient facilities several times since August 2013.
His mental health continues to deteriate due to the inaffective 'care' that he receives from Oxleas.

Whilst staying with you, he has not received any formal therapy and is just fed medication to keep him stable and lethargic. He is then discharged earlier than he should be, often into a supposed bed and breakfast which actually turns out to be a dirty, pungent and unsafe halfway house which has an even greater affect on his mental state.

I have attended several appointments and spoken with doctors directly to express my concerns. I'm promised that appropriate action will be taken regarding my father's care, for it to be completely ignored a few weeks' later.

My father was admitted once again 5 weeks ago and through conversations with his doctor I was reassured that they would not discharge him earlier than needed and they would do all that is possible to ensure he is placed in suitable accomodation once he does leave.

Less than two weeks later my father is yet again discharged without anywhere to live, and with just two hours' notice. Whilst I understand that Oxleas have no direct effect over housing; they will definitely have a say on when treatment ends.

My father was subsequently sent to another halfway house that was dirty and unhabitable without any care plan in place. In the days following this, he became highly anxious, severely depressed and unable to eat.

The only way to get readmission is through visiting the A&E department and we have now been sat waiting for 10 hours and counting because of the incompetence of the team at Oxleas House, Greenwich.

When will Oxleas realise that if they treat their patients affectively and efficiently; there will be less readmissions and money will be saved in the long run?

Until then I will keep trying to support my dad the best I can, because Oxleas clearly can't.

Dear Chelsey

Thank you for your message. We are sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced and continue to experience whilst trying to look after your father. Here at Oxleas we actively seek patients and families feedback so we can continually improve our services.

We have asked the Modern Matron, Joanne George, to give you a call today to and discuss your concerns further. Ms George can be reached on 020 8836 6683 - she will make contact with you today to explore ways in which she can assist you and your father further.

Thank you again for taking time to let us know of your recent experience of services.

Kind regards

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director, Greenwich Mental Health Services

I have had a stroke and my quad stick is broken and I need urgent access to another one. I am struggling to walk with just my walking stick. Please can someone advise me where I can go to get my quad stick replaced.

Thank you

Dear Delroy

I have called and left you a voicemail message. Please can you call me back so I can direct you to the correct team who can advise you further on how the problem with your quad stick can be resolved. My number is 020 8836 8548.

Many thanks

Lisa Thompson
Associate Director, Greenwich Community Services

I am very interested in undertaking rTMS for treatment resistant depression and I have the funds in place to do so.

Before I proceed, however, I have two questions:

1) If I would like to undertake rTMS as a means to reduce or eliminate the medications I am taking, is it advisable to do this before or after rTMS therapy? I am worried that coming off medication afterwards may 'undo' the effect of rTMS.

2) If I would like to use rTMS to prevent relapse, what maintenance schedule is recommended if, for instance, I would like to take no medication. For instance, would one session per month be an adequate preventative measure? I am keen to maintain the effect of rTMS before I relapse and, therefore, avoid the cost of a repeat course of acute treatment.

I have been reading the anticonvulsants may decrease the effectiveness of rTMS according to Canadian guidance. I take 1800 mg gabapentin as one of my drugs. Is there any truth in this?

To answer your questions, whether you receive rTMS or not, your medication will have to be considered carefully. Most people having rTMS also take medication, unless they have decided to avoid tablets altogether. Many also have psychotherapy. Every component of a carefully considered treatment plan will have a synergistic action. In other words, other interventions may in fact help the chances of recovery with rTMS.

It is true to say that certain medications will be a better choice for a given individual than others, but this would apply in any case, even if you are not having rTMS.

As far as the maintenance is concerned, you are right, we often recommend something like one treatment every month or so, depending on personal circumstances, and this is often enough to keep you well.

Finally, no, I don't think the Gabapentin would be a significant obstacle.

Kind regards

Dr Rafael Euba

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.