Latest comments banner

Your comments

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, it's necessary for us to temporarily stop the option to leave comments on our website.

If you need to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS), you can find contact details here: http://oxleas.nhs.uk/your-views/make-a-complaint/patient-advice-and-liaison-ser/​

We will return this function to normal, so that you are able to leave comments, as soon as possible.

Thank you for your patience.

643 Comments

My husband was admitted on Holbrook ward 2 weeks ago with dementia he has now been twice admitted to queen Elizabeth hosp i am being told that he had a bad chest when i saw him last he has rapid wight loss and was starving and thirsty because he was choking on fluids and was unable to swallow food as much as i complained i was told they would follow up with requesting an assesment so basically he had been left to starve and dehydrate apart from this there are massive failings here not to mention the rude and non communitive staff that work there its an absolute shambles with staff doing the bare minimum like eating their lunch while patients are left the sheer lack of information is frustrating in itself the lack of compassion is beyond belief the most unhepful and rude people i have ever come across non responsive is a better way to describe these people and like every other job it comes down to bad management and while i do appreciate how hard this job can be i yet to see any geuine carers in this place apart from the lack of manners and social skills no one no,s what anyone is doing so it left me not knowing absolutely nothing about my husband except he has now gone back to queen Elizabeth

Dear Trudie

I'm sorry and concerned to hear of your experiences. I understand that your concerns are being addressed under a formal complaint process.

This will involve a thorough investigation by a manager or senior clinician and review by senior managers and the Chief Executive of Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust.

The formal complaint process also ensures necessary actions will be taken to avoid similar difficulties in future. You will receive a formal response from Oxleas about this process.

I am very sorry, though, that your experience has meant that you have had cause to make a formal complaint and want to offer my sincere apologies.

Yours sincerely

Dr Jo Cook
Head of Patient Experience for Bexley Care

The website says the office opens at 8am. I keep trying but it is now 8.35 and still it is shut. Does it now open later?

Dear Louise

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and speak to my colleague regarding the information that you have seen online about the opening hours for Bromley CAMHS.

The trust website does not list opening hours for Bromley CAMHS. The information you are referring to is supplied by Google and this is information over which we have no control. However, we will inform Google that this information is incorrect and request that it is changed.

The opening hours for Bromley CAMHS are 9am - 5pm Monday to Friday.

Kind regards

Beverley Mack
Associate Director, CAMHS

Hi. My daughter is coming up to 2 years old and although we were sent a letter inviting us to arrange a check up I have mislaid it. Should I call the central administration team?

Hi Andrew

Thank you for your email. Please call the central admin team on 0208 836 8621 and they will book a two year health review appointment for you in a venue that is most convenient for you.

Best wishes

Loretta McGurry
Head of Health Visiting Bromley

Hi do I need to go back to my gp to be re referred? I was being seen last year, but due to work issues I couldn’t attend the appointments, so I haven’t been back. I am in terrible pain in my right shoulder.

Dear Joanne

Sincere apologies for delay in our response to your e-mail.

Thank you very much for your enquiry.

We now have the option of people being able to self-refer, for Bexley MSK Physiotherapy.

Currently 95% of Bexley GP's are signed up to for their patients to use this process. To undertake this self referral you will need to call 020 8302 6330 and select option 3.

If you experience a problem with this or would like us to check if your GP has signed up for this please do call us on and ask for Paul Smith or Heather Ritchie service leads on 020 8302 6330.

If your GP has not yet signed up for the self referral process, then you will need your GP to refer to Bexley MSK Service.

If you would like advice please do call us on the above number, or if you think that your problem does require urgent attention then please do attend either urgent care centre or A+E.

Kindest regards

Doug Reid
Service Manager, Bexley Adult Community Services

H there,

I’m a little confused as when I was having a health visitor come to my house when my baby was first born they’d aid there was cutbacks and the self weighing clinic at Crown Medical was no longer running. But ive now read at the top of this page that from the 30th November it is running on a Thursday between 1:30-3:30. Is this definitely the case??

Dear Tamara

Thank you for your email.

I apologise that the information on the Oxleas web page is incorrect and I have asked for it to be removed immediately.

Bromley health visiting has its own website http://bromleyhealthvisiting.org.uk/ with advice on maternal and child health and development and details about local resources and clinics.

There is a self weigh clinic on Monday at Holy Trinity Convent between 9:30 and 11:30 and health advice sessions at Castlecombe Children's Centre on Thursday between 9:30 and 12:00, Burnt Ash Children's Centre on Wednesday between 1:30 and 3:30 and 5 other venues across Beckenham, Penge, Biggin Hill and Orpington.

Best wishes

Loretta McGurry
Head of Health Visiting Bromley

I am bring my Grandaughter to Under 21 clinic today, do we need a appointment or is it a walk in CLINIC? Thank you

Thank you for your comment and apologies for not responding sooner.

There is a walk-in clinic for under 21s every Wednesday at Market Street between 4pm and 7pm.

No appointment is needed.

Hello, I think I've lost my son's red book. Can this be replaced?

Thanks

Hi Ella

Thank you for your message. We will replace your child's red book.

I will email you to ask for your address and child's details and we will add the immunisation and health reviews and our contact details and send the book to you, unless you would like to collect it from a health advice session local to you.

Best wishes

Loretta McGurry
Head of Health Visiting Bromley

Our mother has been seriously ill and hospitalised for the majority of the past year. She was finally discharged to the community health services at the end of last year and is now being medicated by a great team of hard working district nurses within her home. I received a call from the team lead for the district nurses for our area, dictating to me (not discussing) that her staff would not be removing their shoes on entering our home and will not be wearing protective shoe covering due to health and safety concerns. We have friends who work in Oxleas NHS foundation Trust and regularly carry shoe covers out of respect for their clients homes in the community. These are provided to your staff by the Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust therefore I am confused by this inconsistency. How does wearing protective shoe coverings within our home constitute a health and safety risk when other members of your staff providing community care do so? The inappropriate way in which your team lead spoke to me, showed no respect or dignity to our family or our home. This behaviour is surely unacceptable as per the key principles laid out in the MNC code of conduct.
We pray in our home therefore do so in a clean environment, our carpets are cream coloured and we take pride in the cleanliness of our family home therefore we feel that it is not an unreasonable request to ask that your staff to protect their outdoor shoes whilst walking in our home if policy dictates that shoe removal is forbidden. Our mother has suffered numerous infections which have threatened her life over the past year. Evidence suggests that the risk of infection from shoes worn outdoors into the home due to the bacteria is of concern. There are numerous visits by community staff throughout the day and we need to maintain a clean environment. We obviously would like to do all possible to prevent our mother suffering from further infections as this could prove fatal.
I was further questioned about our mothers vital 3 times a week hospital appointments by this team lead. These have been communicated to the district nursing team via their daily visits since December to ensure the district nurses are able to attend to our mother on time with crucial medication. The conversation with this team lead was extremely draining as she believed our mothers appointments took place at a different time. Her approach was extremely directive and confrontational. I was quite surprised that the shoe covering request had received greater attention and coverage in the daily team meetings than the crucial appointment schedule conveyed to the team daily since December 2019. As a service user we are extremely unhappy with this level of service.

Dear Shen

Firstly we sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you.

Thank you for communicating all your concerns to us in detail. It is essential that we hear the views and concerns form our service users, families and carers. This enables us to constantly review and improve our practice and procedures to provide the best levels of care and experience of those receiving this care from us.

We would like to offer you a meeting with the operational and quality lead for District Nursing so we can discuss these concerns with you in person.

Our District Nursing Matron Karen Rodwell will contact you by phone to organise this.

Kind regards

Douglas Reid
Deputy Head of Service
Pre and Post Acute Care

The tarn ward - at first I was hopeful that they would provide adequate care for my loved one. They did not. My last phone call from them, where I expressed my concerns regarding my partners wellbeing in relation to being transfered to a different ward meaning zero consistency and the impact of this. Instead, I was passive aggressively told to inform my loved one that I'd be the reason in delaying him being transfered, to which they placed me on loud speaker l to speak to him and said they wanted to hear what I say to me. Disgusting position to put a loved one in, loved one's are the people who have to continue supporting and picking up the pieces left afterwards - to actually try and create conflict it truly disgusting. I'm so disappointed.
No communication was made about him being transfered in the first place.
Terrible place, terrible management. I now understand why there are so many negative comments.

Dear Elanor

Thank you for your email. We are sorry to hear about your experience with the service that the TARN PICU has provided to your loved one.

Anthony Akenzua consultant psychiatrist at the TARN would like to have a conversation with you about this issue so please can you email him your details at a.akenzua@nhs.net, alternatively you can ring the unit and ask to speak to him directly on 0203 953 6350.

Thank you again for taking time to raise these concerns with us.

Kind regards

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director, Greenwich Mental Health Services

Over the past year or so I have needed treatment for a couple of foot ulcers. All the staff that have helped me at both Garland Road and Market Street have been exceptional in their professionalism, conduct and manner. For the most recent wound I was referred to the Greenwich Centre where I was treated by Emma Pearce. I have been thoroughly impressed by the care offered by Emma. As well as treating the wound, Emma has offered sound advice on how to prevent the problem from reoccurring and has set the wheels in motion to try to identify possible causes. Thank you so much for your help.

Dear Michael

Many thanks for taking the time to write, thanking and complimenting Emma and the wider podiatry team for their work. I will ensure your kind words are passed onto them.

I hope the advice offered prevents further foot ulcers developing and that the causes are identified.

Best wishes

Lisa Thompson
Associate Director