Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

If you need to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS), you can find contact details here: http://oxleas.nhs.uk/your-views/make-a-complaint/patient-advice-and-liaison-ser/​

660 Comments

I have just been referred after being diagnosed with Osteoarthritis.
My question is it was seen on and X-ray of my pelvis but I’m confident I have it in other areas (neck, knees, shoulder). Will I be referred by yourselves for more xrays or mri’s to find out the extent?

Kind regards
Phil

Dear Phil

Thank you for taking the time to enquire about your symptoms and condition.

Without us knowing more about your clinical history and symptoms which we will be able to obtain when we see you in our MSK service, we would not be able say at this point with certainty what will or will not be conducted in the form of investigations.

Please be assured that the clinician you see will conduct a thorough history of your symptoms and undertake clinical examination and explain what, if any investigations will be required along with jointly agreeing a plan of treatment with you going forwards.

I do hope this answers your question sufficiently. Please do not hesitate to contact the service on the number below if you have any further questions and ask for Paul Smith or Heather Ritchie, joint-leads for Bexley MSK Service.

Telephone enquiry number: 020 8302 6330

Kind regards

Paul Smith

I first took my son to my gp about concerns in september 2016, after having tac meetings, and my sons behaviour at nursery being the highlight of every meeting,and i asked the gp for my son to be referred for a full development check.after waiting for a long time he was seen by a pediatrician, and referred for asd and adhd assessment i believe. Since then his behavior at school has got better, however his behavior at home has declined. He is having trouble sleeping sometimes, he is awake up until 3am. He is 7 years old, and he looks very tired all the time. I have had no help with his sleep problems, and ive gone back to my gp many of times and all they have done is email the adhd team. I feel like my son is being let down, and also myself, as we are getting no support with his sleeping issues, and i have basically been told to wait for the adhd assessment. This issue has become such a problem for me, that my son is late for school every day , as he is tired, or is missing school due to tiredness.. and now i have a meeting with the attendance officer, and because of lack of support, i will probley get fined, which is giving me anxiety.

Dear Julie

We are sorry that you have not been able to access help with your son's sleeping.

We have tried to contact you today to see how we can help and will call you again later today.

Kind regards

Maria Tanner
Associate Director for Specialist Children Services

Absolutely rubbish!
Have been refers four times to them, every time discharged before I was able to see someone. They don’t answer the phone most of the time or the few times they do, they tell you to call back the next day! I have a job, I cannot call you in the middle of the day and wait half an hour on the phone to be told I will be called one day in a month for a phone assessment. I was assessed by my GP and a psychiatrist at the hospital. One year later I am still in depression and must pay for a private therapist. Appalling!!!

Dear Magalie

I am very sorry that you have had this experience. The service is open from 8am to 8pm, Monday to Thursday, and 8am to 5pm on a Friday. The extended opening hours are there to enable people with busy working lives or caring responsibilities to be able to access the service, so I can understand why you are feeling frustrated if we did not manage to speak to you in the evenings. I would like to investigate what happened and to ensure it does not happen for other people in the future.

Please can you email me (Katy Grazebrook) at oxl-tr.greenwichtimetotalk@nhs.net with your name and contact details and I can investigate what happened and arrange a mutually agreeable time to talk.

Also, if you would like to give us another chance, please let me know (via email above) and I will ensure that the team ring you in the evening to make the appointment.

The initial assessments are usually conducted over the telephone (but maybe face to face if there are specific communication needs) and during core business hours 9am to 5pm, so that if there are any safeguarding concerns or risk situations these can be dealt with promptly. We can support clients with letters to employers as they are required to support their employees to attend health appointments.

The subsequent treatment appointments (if needed) may be over the telephone, via an online service called Silvercloud, face to face in person, face to face via video-conference, or in a group. The variety of modes of delivery are aimed at accommodating people with different needs and different availabilities for appointments.

Best wishes

Katy Grazebrook
Clinical Lead, Greenwich Time To Talk

My husband Keith attended your clinic until August last year when he was referred back to our GP. I have spoken to many people ie Alzheimer’s, Dementia Uk and The Lewy Body Society and although Keith was diagnosed by you with Alzheimer’s, after speaking to these organisations he has many of the symptoms of someone suffering with Lewy Body. I am at a loss to know whether Keith should be re-assessed and would be most grateful for your comments.

Thankyou

Dear Patricia

The Memory Service you attended has been made aware of the issue you raised.

They will want to see you to discuss and advise on the issues you have raised. They will contact you tomorrow (20 Feb) about this. They will also offer an appointment if it is needed.

Best wishes

Munya Mangundu
Operational Manager

Hello

I am female over 35 and can only visit the clinic after 6pm Monday to Friday or any time on a Saturday due to work commitments. According to your opening times there is no walk in for my needs? How can I get seen? Been trying for a while.

Thank you

Thank you for your comment. Our service offers same-day bookable appointments on Monday's between 4:30pm and 7:00pm - to book please call 020 8301 8955 from 09:45am on the same day you wish to book the appointment.

We also offer bookable Long Acting Reversible Contraception and injection appointments at differing times - you can see our timetable on this page
http://oxleas.nhs.uk/services/service/contraception-and-sexual-healt/

Kind regards

Angie Miller
Service Manager for Adult Community Services (Greenwich)

THE worst service. Been waiting 140 days on counselling wait list. Been told I refused services I was never made aware of twice... Constantly being told, oh so and so isn't in so I cant help and they will have to call you tomorrow only to never be called back. Misprints of my name, address and email so I wasn't sent the right correspondence. Initial assessment I was cut off and didn't receive a treatment plan without calling to chase myself. I asked for f2f and was given online guided self help. I never speak to the same person twice and when they look up my notes my case worker has always gone home. Every single time. Was offered counselling today out of the blue for 3 days time and was told I would be out of the service if I couldn't agree to 9 sessions there and there for the same time each week; during work hours. Latest appointment was 3.30pm so if you have to work or are a teacher don't bother asking for late appointments because you may be told you "aren't the only person waiting for later appointments and I can't tell you how long you'll be waiting for one".

Why has this mental health service only resulted in more stress and waiting? Awful.

Thank you for your email and we are sorry to hear your experience has not been positive. The clinical lead of the service, Stavros Markatselis, will be happy to have a discussion with you and try to address any of your concerns.

Please email him directly on s.markatselis@nhs.net and provide your phone number and contact details so he can make contact with you.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director

I want to get my coil replaced
Can I come walk in , I am in sidcup
How can I contact the clinic
Thanks

Thank you for your enquiry.

Our Bexley clinic at the Albion Surgery in Bexleyheath offers coil removal, but not fitting.

We can replace your coil at any walk-in clinic at Market Street, Woolwich (SE18 6QR), or we have bookable appointments specifically for coils.

Our number is 020 8301 8920 and all our walk-in and bookable appointments are listed on the Oxleas website:

http://oxleas.nhs.uk/services/service/contraception-and-sexual-healt/

My husband was admitted on Holbrook ward 2 weeks ago with dementia he has now been twice admitted to queen Elizabeth hosp i am being told that he had a bad chest when i saw him last he has rapid wight loss and was starving and thirsty because he was choking on fluids and was unable to swallow food as much as i complained i was told they would follow up with requesting an assesment so basically he had been left to starve and dehydrate apart from this there are massive failings here not to mention the rude and non communitive staff that work there its an absolute shambles with staff doing the bare minimum like eating their lunch while patients are left the sheer lack of information is frustrating in itself the lack of compassion is beyond belief the most unhepful and rude people i have ever come across non responsive is a better way to describe these people and like every other job it comes down to bad management and while i do appreciate how hard this job can be i yet to see any geuine carers in this place apart from the lack of manners and social skills no one no,s what anyone is doing so it left me not knowing absolutely nothing about my husband except he has now gone back to queen Elizabeth

Dear Trudie

I'm sorry and concerned to hear of your experiences. I understand that your concerns are being addressed under a formal complaint process.

This will involve a thorough investigation by a manager or senior clinician and review by senior managers and the Chief Executive of Oxleas NHS Foundation Trust.

The formal complaint process also ensures necessary actions will be taken to avoid similar difficulties in future. You will receive a formal response from Oxleas about this process.

I am very sorry, though, that your experience has meant that you have had cause to make a formal complaint and want to offer my sincere apologies.

Yours sincerely

Dr Jo Cook
Head of Patient Experience for Bexley Care

The website says the office opens at 8am. I keep trying but it is now 8.35 and still it is shut. Does it now open later?

Dear Louise

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and speak to my colleague regarding the information that you have seen online about the opening hours for Bromley CAMHS.

The trust website does not list opening hours for Bromley CAMHS. The information you are referring to is supplied by Google and this is information over which we have no control. However, we will inform Google that this information is incorrect and request that it is changed.

The opening hours for Bromley CAMHS are 9am - 5pm Monday to Friday.

Kind regards

Beverley Mack
Associate Director, CAMHS

Hi. My daughter is coming up to 2 years old and although we were sent a letter inviting us to arrange a check up I have mislaid it. Should I call the central administration team?

Hi Andrew

Thank you for your email. Please call the central admin team on 0208 836 8621 and they will book a two year health review appointment for you in a venue that is most convenient for you.

Best wishes

Loretta McGurry
Head of Health Visiting Bromley

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.