Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

499 Comments

My son also is on milbrook ward I feel he does not get the correct therapy as he only sees a the consultant once per week An there is no therapy given to help with any of the unrealistic thoughts or voices that he hears due to his phycosis issues An is only always put on medication An never learns realistic ways of thinking so he ends up back in section when things go wrong where as if he had correct therapy then he would have a better chance of a much better life instead of trying to harm or kill himself when things go to breaking point

Dear Ashley

Thank you for taking the time to contact us and I'm sorry to hear your concerns.

Our focus should always be individualised and have a strong emphasis on psychologically minded approaches and seeing people in their wider environment and what matters to them.

While medication can be important for many people, it should never be the sole intervention.

I agree that we need to have long-term perspectives to try minimise the risks of coming back into hospital.

I will speak with the ward and ask them to contact you to discuss your concerns further and to think with you about how we can provide the best possible care for your son.

Kind regards

Dr Derek Tracy
Clinical Director

My son is on the waiting list for an appointment for ADHD assessment and we have been told the waiting list is eighteen months.
Is this true? He is in a very serious condition.

Last visit today from the Woolwich team district nurses ...because I am healed !!!
What amazing women ...who have healed my leg with patience kindness and knowledge
Thank You so much ...
Always smiling always patient , involving me in the healing procedure
I am so grateful for all the nurses care.
I was so scared I would never heal...and here I am with the no fuss efficient
district nurse hands on care...
Thank You ...Awesome District Nurses ( Woolwich district)

Dear Lorraine

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Woolwich District Nursing Team.

We are grateful for you taking the time to provide us with this very kind feedback and we do appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

We have passed your thanks to the relevant members of staff.

We wish you well for the future and pleased you have had a positive outcome.

kind regards

Angie Miller
Service Manager for Adult Community Services (Greenwich)

I self referred to GTTT and was very anxious at the initial assessment. I was booked in for CBT pretty quickly and this was arranged at a location that was easy for me to get to,
I cannot recommend GTTT enough!!! The service I received was superb. My therapist was Folake. I found my sessions so useful and they really helped me get mentally stronger. Through CBT I was also referred to the Employment Team where I met Christine who has been supporting me with work place issues and stress.
After completing my CBT, I have also been put forward for Mindfulness course for Relapse Prevention which I am looking forward to.
Julia and Miriam in the Employment Team have been so helpful whilst my adviser was away and I had work 'issues'. I am so happy that I plucked the courage and contacted Greenwich Time to Talk. Thank you Folake, Christine, Miriam and Christine.

Dear Blanca

Thank you for your kind comments. We are always very grateful to receive feedback on how patients have experienced our services. We have passed your thanks to the relevant members of staff.

Kind regards

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director, Greenwich Mental Health Services

Hiya,
My son is still waiting for SALT after being referred a few months ago, he has recently be referred to a paediatrician (who is likely to reject the referral) and an educational psychologist (who is likely to do the same or accepts it and is not qualified to diagnose autism) and I was wondering how to self refer my son for an assessment? My HV can see why I'm concerned and it frustrates us both thinking he will have to wait years before getting a diagnosis to get more help and that could not happen until he receives SALT which could also take up to 2 more years. The symptoms he shows are clear and has speech regression as well as being non verbal currently. Could a self referral be a possibility please?
Thanks

Dear Katie

We are sorry that you have not heard when your son will be seen by the Bexley Speech and Language team.

The manager of the team contacted you yesterday about your son’s referral and was able to assure you that he will be seen in September.

At the assessment the therapists will carry out an initial assessment of your son's speech and language and his social interaction. A care plan will be made with you, to help your son develop his communication skills.

If the concerns about social communication and interaction skills need a referral to a Paediatrician, at this time or later, a referral will be made with you, and the information from the communication assessment will be available for the doctor to support his assessment.

We will contact your Health Visitor to let her know that your son will be seen in September

Kind regards

Lindsay Malekzai
Lead Speech and Language Therapist
Bexley Children's Speech and Language Therapy

Some very negligent, carless, irresponsible and difficult staff at the hospital, especially on Norman Ward. My sister had countless bruises all over her body and when we tried to take photos, the staff told us we were not permitted to film or take photos on the ward. All the patients on the ward are being failed by the hospital and staff who don't seem to care about wanting to help the patients get better. A serious of lack of communication between the staff and us (the patient's family). They don't seem willing to cooperate with us and give us information regarding my sister including her condition, treatment (or lack of treatment, should I say), ect. I'm absolutely appalled & shocked by how a mental health hospital can be so uncompassionate, neglectful, disorganised and chaotic.

Dear Ryan

I have tried to contact you yesterday morning (10 Aug) but you were not available. I have sent you an email and will try and call you again today.

Kind regards

Lawrence Yong
Modern Matron
Green Parks House
01689 880008

Is it possible to refer someone else who needs help?

Dear Sarah

A person can self refer or go to their GP and ask for a referral to be made on their behalf.

kind regards

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director Greenwich Mental Health Services

Hi I have been waiting in a o me on one session for the past month .I'm just afraid of all these comments that I won't get my appointment. I have had my phone assessment but still waiting on a session .please can you let me know how long it will be .thank you

Dear Pauline

Thank you for your comment and we are sorry for the delay in gaining access to our service. Deputy clinical lead Stavros Markatselis (020 3260 1100) will be in touch to discuss your concerns.

Kind regards

Sophia Ploumaki
Associate Director
Greenwich Mental Health Services

Disgraceful, my sister was in a mental health crisis and was brought in by a team of mental health Drs under a section 2. She was told a week later she could go home and they did this knowing she is a risk to herself and others. This is why mental health fails people, the Dr who told her she could leave hadn't bothered to read the report that said she needs to go to full time supported housing before she can leave the hospital.

Dear L

I am sorry to read about your experience. I will email you directly to get more information and discuss a plan to take your concerns forward.

Estelle Frost
Bromley Service Director

Hi

I have been depressed/anhedonic for 9 years and have failed to respond to all medications (over 30) , and was wondering whether I could be referred for rTMS on the NHS? I live in a nearby London borough and see this as a fully viable option in finally treating my depression and regaining my life.

However I need to ask if were I to be referred, you would be willing to conduct the treatment on an area of the brain known as the orbitofrontal cortex? This is the only area of the brain that seems to respond to the emotional numbing type of depression/anhedonia that I have, and has many studies,evidence and anecdotes behind it of which I can provide.

As I understand it, NICE has not restricted this method of care, and it has been used extensively in the US now to alleviate the most treatment resistant cases(anhedonia and emotional numbing) I really feel that this is the only type of rTMS that can cure me , and being only 24 and having suffered like this for many years, I am pretty desperate to regain my life.

I hope you can be of assistance

Dear Albert

I am sorry to hear you have been unwell for so long. You are right to say that orbito-frontal rTMS appears to be an interesting and perhaps promising rTMS modality, but it would be delivered with a special coil, which we don't have, and more importantly, one would normally try the standard rTMS protocol to either the right or the left Dorso-lateral Prefrontal Cortex, as the evidence of effectiveness of this modality is much better at the moment.

Kind regards

Dr Rafael Euba

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.