Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

245 Comments

My daughter had an appointment on May 10th. We were very relieved to finally see someone. In June we received a letter detailing our care-plan. That was after me calling in. The letter had been delayed. Since then we've heard nothing. I called the office last week and was told that my daughter's case worker was on annual leave until the end of July. So I would assume that her case would have been handed over to someone else? No, nobody knew what was going on.

I hoped that we could have had at least one or two more sessions before September, but it's looking unlikely. I was told I'd get a phone call in a few days that was a week ago. July is almost over and we have got nowhere fast. I'm very disappointed that I have had to come to here to vent my frustration with the service. Back to square one.

My daughter has finished her exams and now barely leaves the house. I know your services are stretched, but I feel that your help is what is needed to get my daughter back on track.

Dear Deborah

We are sorry we did not get back to you in a timely way, you have now spoken with the service and an appointment has been arranged for next week.

We hope our help, with your support, will get your daughter back on track as well.

Kind regards

Sheena Gohal - Operational Manager
Stephen Whitmore - Service Director

I have received outstanding service in Garland Road Health Centre in 2015-2016. Both my consultant Mr Andrew MacFarlane and podiatrist Mr Ryan Ballerino are an asset to the NHS. I saw only them throughout my whole process with appointments and my consultation. They carried out my surgery in Queen Mary's hospital June 2016 and can't thank them enough for the incredible job they have done on my foot. A dedicated and hardworking team.

Dear Claudia

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our podiatric surgery service. Andrew and Ryan were extremely pleased to receive your feedback. I also appreciate the direct email you sent us about your experience. I hope you have now fully recovered following your surgery and am delighted you are happy with the result.

Many thanks

Keith Soper
Service Director

Interesting how how 99% are all diagnosed with BPD and a small 1% are diagnosed with psychosis or other my moods are up and down rapidly I can't stress how many times I have said this and instead of being seen by dr that is there all the time I'm sent to jnr doctors that leave every 6 months however Marion my psychotherapist is amazing and has been on this roller coaster and she's been a life line I really hope I find my answers at least then I close the book however I will not be that 99% of patients with BPD and I will stand my ground I'm not crazy I'm lost and all I want is a way help and a coping mechanism so I can move forward with my life and be a better mum if the Erith Center can't help me then they should just be honest as I'm honest with them !

Dear Leyla,

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It sounds like your experiences have been mixed: I'm glad your therapist has been a support, and I will pass this message on to her, I know she'll appreciate it.

I recognise the challenges of junior doctors having less experience, and also of them 'rotating' between jobs every six months or so. Whilst this helps provide the training and experience for tomorrow's experts, it can prove destabilising for people today.

We continue to roll-out training on various mental health topics to our staff, including BPD and challenges around this diagnosis being 'correct' or 'incorrect' (this is a particular interest of mine), and I recognise how important this is. I will feed your opinions on this back within our directorate.

I would also encourage you to raise your thoughts directly with Marion, who will be far better placed than me, and who knows you much more, to help contextualise and think this through with you.

Dr Derek Tracy,
Associate Clinical Director

How do you decide what treatment pathway to put people on? I have friends with the same diagnosis as me who have been offered a lot more therapy and other help than I have. I no everyone is different but im struggling to understand how these decisions are made. I am really trying to get my life together but have yet again been let down by a service that I thought was meant to help.

Dear Kat,

Thanks for contacting us with your query. Treatment should be tailored to an individual's needs: it can vary from person to person, even if their problems appear similar, and should involve a discussion with whoever is looking after your care.

It's not clear to me from your message which team you are under or what you are receiving: in the first instance I would recommend having an open discussion with whoever is providing your main care, including other options that you think might help or that you have seen others receive.

There might be good reasons why it is felt you might not benefit from these at this time, or it might open up a new conversation about alternative approaches.

If you feel you cannot speak to the member of staff in this way, I am happy to be contacted directly. My email address is derek.tracy@oxleas.nhs.uk, or I can be reached by phone on 0208 836 8555.

Dr Derek Tracy,
Associate Clinical Director

My daughter was referred to CAMHS by our GP in october last year within 5 days of the referral being made a doctor at CAMHS contacted me to discuss what was going on, I was told I would get an appointment for assessment within 5 days which is exactly what happened, after the assesment we had a weekly slot given us which is ongoing, if I ever call to speak to anyone I'm either put straight through or I get a call back within an hour, I cant compliment the staff and the treatment my daughter has been given enough, they have all been truly amazing,

Dear Lisa

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the service you received from Bexley CAMHS, which I have passed on to colleagues. We appreciate your feedback.

kind regards

Dorothy Pilling
Operational Manager
Bexley CAMHS

I visited market street clinic yesterday (4th July) can I just say the first nurse I had to visit was rude, judgmental and not what you expect from a sexual health clinic .
Not only was she rude she didn't fully read my form, therefore I had to go back today (5th) in order to complete my visit
I feel Oxleas need to really make sure all staff have consideration for people who visit these clinics

Dear Bea

I am very sorry that you were not pleased with your visit to the sexual health clinic yesterday. I would really like to discuss your care with you so that we can ensure all patients visiting us have the best possible experience when coming to discuss their sexual health.

I will contact you directly via email to discuss this in more detail, so that I can follow up on the issues raised.

Many thanks,

Fiona Dickson

I have nothing but praise for this service. I can see from some of the comments that not everyone has had a positive experience but I have to speak as I find. I was referred to the service suffering from anxiety and depression related to work and fortunatley was seen quite quickly.

I started working with a young lady named Lauren who very quickly got a handle on my issues and began working up a treatment plan almost immediately. I was given written information to support the therapy techniques and a form of homework to monitor and track my progress. I never got to complete my sessions (my fault- house move) but the tools I was given, and continue to use, have proved invaluable and I am well on the road to recovery.

I would like to say thanks to both Lauren and GTTT for the service they provide and for the help and support they have given me.

Dear Steve

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to feedback. I'm really delighted to hear about the great service you have - in my experience Greenwich Time to Talk tends to be enormously valued by service users, and the staff there are rightfully proud of the good work they do.

I'm very pleased that this has been a good step in your own recovery, and I'll pass your kind words on to the whole team, especially Lauren.

Dr Derek Tracy,
Associate Clinical Director

At the end of June 2015 I was discharged from Lewisham hospital after spending 3 months in their care, initially I was treated by district nurses at home. After about 3 weeks it was decided that I could attend my GP's surgery for wound dressings, although they have 3 surgeries getting daily appointments was not always available, that was when I was advised to go to the Source. Friendly helpful staff, no appointments required and great medical attention. 2 weeks ago I was released from Lewisham Hospital after a reversal of a Stoma, I had no hesitation returning to the Source for wound dressings.

Dear Keith

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the service you have received from our staff at The Source. I know the team will be delighted to receive this positive feedback and I am pleased to hear you are improving.

Best wishes

Keith Soper
Service Director

Hi,

I'm writing in regards to Jack's care. Jack has been transferred from a London CMHT he is a outpatient at the maudsley.
Jack has been calling to get urgent care and has not been able to get through for weeks.
I am appalled by the lack of care for this vunerable young man and would like you to call him as a matter of urgency.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Sophie (Jacks partner)

Dear Sophie

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will look into this and make sure that the appropriate service responds to Jack as soon as possible.

Iain Dimond
Director of Adult Mental Health and Learning Disability Services

i contacted the crisis team last year when i was going through a very disorientating set of experiences later diagnosed as paranoid schizophrenia. i initially did not believe i was ill but with a great deal of intensive and skillful treatment, all through which i was treated with the utmost respect and courtesy even though my behavior was highly erratic, i came to the realization that i was very ill. nine months later, although still struggling, i am making great improvements and have at last accepted that i must take regular medication, and i am so much happier as a result, as well as continuing to hold down a full-time job.

Dear Andy

Thank you for taking the time to feedback. It's so nice to hear this; we know that times of crisis can be when people feel at their lowest and most vulnerable, and I'm so pleased that the Bexley Home Treatment Team were there for you.

I'll pass your comments on to them; I know they'll be delighted.

Kind regards

Dr Derek Tracy
Associate Clinical Director

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.