Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

Please note, the website comments section is not a crisis service, and is not monitored out-of-hours.

Comments are moderated and it may take more than 48 hours for a response to be posted. If you need help in a crisis, please visit

If you need to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS), you can find contact details here:​


Once again I have heard from a family in Bexley who have not been able to access help and support for their child via CAMHS and have been told that their child "does not meet the criteria". I was told the same for my child.

Obviously your "criteria" is not understood. If it was then GPS would not waste their time and money making referrals and parents like me would not be waiting for weeks (and some times months) only to be told that you can not help.

Dear Beverley

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on the Oxleas website. I am afraid we cannot comment on what you have heard about another child.

We are sorry that Bexley CAMHS was not the right service to help you with your family’s needs in 2013. It is clear that you have many challenges to manage and we are aware that it can be frustrating and exhausting when you are trying so hard to find the right support for her and for yourselves.

Unfortunately, our CAMH Service is not commissioned to run the type of social forums children like yours need in order to understand and build relationships and gain confidence and self-esteem. It may not have been clear to your GP at the time of referral that these may be the most helpful ways forward for you. The purpose of the initial meeting at CAMHS is to find out if there is a moderate to severe mental health problem for the child and this is not always clear from the referral letter.

We are very sorry that we were not the right service for your family at the time of your referral to us. We wish you well for the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Whitmore
Director of Children and Young People’s Services

I have never been so badly treated and humiliated in my life and am still reeling from the trauma of being incarcerated on Shrewsbury Ward. I was admitted under section late at night in great distress. Once at the door I ceased to be a person. I am an employee, a parent, a writer, an artist and a musician, I like books and films and travel but to the ward I was nothing. I was under extreme distress on arrival, not one member of the night staff introduced themselves or offered me a kind or reassuring word. I was taken to the male corridor (I am female) and placed in a filthy room with extreme swear words graffitied on the wall. I had no treatment and did not eat or sleep for 5 days. I sat in one spot on a poor mattress until the psychiatrist released me on S17 leave. I now have a painful back and post traumatic stress. I cry all the time and am utterly traumatised from my experience. This is not how people with a mental illness should be treated in 2015.
A truly vile experience and one which did nothing to help me, in fact I came out feeling worse.

Dear Chris

I am sorry to hear of your experience whilst an in-patient on Shrewsbury Ward Oxleas House, as being an in-patient can undoubtedly be a stressful time for any service user.

The concerns you have outlined have been noted and the Modern Matron, Ward Manager and Consultant would like to meet with you at a date and time convenient to you to discuss and resolve your concerns.

As a trust we always listen and respond to feedback given so that we can continue to improve the services we provide.


Joanne George
Modern Matron, Oxleas House

Tel: 020 8836 6692/93

I am so disgusted!!! 20 minutes on the phone waiting for someone to answer. What is going on with your service?! Thank goodness this is not an emergency service because it is absolutely terrible.

Thank you June for taking time to leave your feedback.

I am sorry that you experienced a delay in having your telephone call answered.

As the service manager for this team, I am looking at ways of how capacity can be increased to meet the high number of calls.

Please contact me on 020 8319 7154 if you would to discuss your concerns further with me.

Kind regards

Liz Penn
Service Manager for Long Term Conditions

Dear District Nursing Team for Bexley/Plas Medygg Practice.

Thank you so much for all your help and assistance through the years with my father - Charles - who passed away in December. I would have sent you a large bunch of roses but can't find any address for you. You did a grand job, under some difficult situations.

Missing you all. Patricia and Connor.

Dear Patricia and Connor

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thanks to the District Nursing Team that cared for your father. I have passed on your kind words and the team really appreciate you taking the time to do this.

They and I would like to pass on our condolences on your sad loss.

Kind regards

Liz Penn
Service Manager for Long Term Conditions

I've been trying to get an appointment for my son online. but there is no choice, only by phone, and the phone line is still busy all day, it's 3 in the afternoon and still occupied.

We have spoken with Fabio, the service he is requesting is not provided by Oxleas and relates to another hospital.

We have provided him with information to assist him in obtaining the service from them.

It seems almost impossible to speak to a human being. I have so far spent 18 minutes holding on trying to speak to someone and all I get is messages. I know that the NHS is in trouble and being told there are over a hundred calls of referral every day is no help or reassurance. You need to get your act together as you are providing no service at all currently. When I did get through I was told by the operator "that I am the only person here today" is not at all impressive.
When I phoned yesterday afternoon and tried to leave a message, there was no option to do so; I just kept being cut off by your system. Your letter states a message can be left outside of the hours 09.15 to 12.30 PM but that facility is not available or not working. Terrible impression being created.

Dear Derek

Thank you for bring to my attention the experience you had when contacting the Central Access Team on Friday. I am very sorry that you had a long wait and that once through to the team the person taking your call was not as helpful as I would expect.

I have tried to contact you by telephone this morning and have left a message for you. When it is convenient please contact me and we can discuss your experience in more detail.

In the meantime I have spoken to Julian Philips who manages the team of administrators who answer telephone calls to the Central Access Team, and asked him to inform all staff what is expected of them when taking calls. He has asked me to extend his apologies to you also.

The current telephone system does not include leaving answer messages, so I apologise for any mis-information within the letter you have referred to. It would be helpful to discuss this further when we are able to talk.

I look forward to speaking to you when it is convenient to you.

With kind regards

Liz Penn
Service Manager for Long Term Conditions

Tel: 020 8319 7154

Thank you Derek for taking the time to speak to me.

I am sorry that you had a long wait to get through to the Central Access Team and that when you did the member of staff did not answer the phone in the manner expected of them. The team have been reminded of the correct procedure and the manager, Julian Philipsz, will monitor this in the future.

Thank you also sharing your positive experiences of the care your mother has received at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, and from the Bexley district nurses and diabetes specialist nurses. I have passed your comments about the wonderful care given to both of these teams.

Your feedback has been greatly appreciated by both teams

Kind regards

Liz Penn

Early December 2014, I had an assessment down Ferryview as I was referred by my GP.
The Nurse who did my assessment was lovely and can't fault her.
The ISSUE I have, its now January 15th 2015 and its been a month and my GP has not heard anything, my GP is unhelpful telling me I should contact Ferryview myself.

How LONG does it take for a nurse to pass on the assessment to a doctor, for them to decide what the best treatment is for me.
I AM GOING THROUGH HELL! I have some down days and you would be surprised to hear but the worst days are when I am having a high day.
Now I am no doctor, but after doing a lot of research and joining a lot of support groups, I can diagnose myself!
I know for a fact that I am suffering with series Bipolar, and all I want is medication and support to sort out both the low and high days.
My GP is happy to give me anti-depressants, but for 13 years, ive probably tried all of them and none has worked!
if it is possible for someone to call me from Ferryview, to tell me whats going on I would be grateful. Sadly I cant remember the date or nurse I spoke to, but I am sure you have records of me being there.

We are very sorry to hear about your experience, and the lack of clear and timely information from us. We take your concerns very seriously, especially as this is a time when you are not feeling at your best.

One of our Associate Clinical Directors is currently looking into this, and you will receive a phone call before 5pm today (23rd Jan) from a member of staff to talk through this with you.

Kind regards
The Communications Team

Hi, I called your number and 35 minutes later I am still waiting for someone to answer - all I keep getting is 'your call is important to us' - really - perhaps you should re-organise your telephone answering system to ensure a better service. Your comments would be appreciated.

Dear Laura

We are sorry to hear that you waited for a considerable time to have your call answered by the Podiatry Access Team.

The team have recently had a phone number change and all calls are now forwarded onto the Central Access Team on 020 8836 8622.

I will ensure your comments are taken back to the team and duly discussed to prevent this occurrence again.

Kind regards

Karen Rodwell
Head of Integrated Community Teams

I have been treated for some time under the recovery team. I have an excellent team. Vanessa my care coordinator. Dr Malekzi my psychiatrist. Dr Paul Wilson my psychologist and Katherine my work adviser. It has been a long and complicated journey one marked with many hurdles and stumbling blocks. They have been there every step of the way. Travelling the journey along side me guiding and encouraging me. Going out of their way to ensure I get seen at a time I was physically not able to attend meetings. Not quick to offer a professional judgement but taking their time to really hear and understand me.

Dear Roberta

Many thanks for the positive feedback - it is very heartening and encouraging to hear both the effect this has had on your well-being, and for the recognition of the clinicians involved.

We shall ensure your kind and thoughtful words are appropriately passed on to them.

Kind regards

The Communications Team

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.