Latest comments banner

Your comments

We are very keen that people who use our services tell us about their experiences, good or bad to enable us to learn and improve. If you have used one of our services please visit our services pages, find the service you have used and leave a comment.

Please note, the website comments section is not a crisis service, and is not monitored out-of-hours.

Comments are moderated and it may take more than 48 hours for a response to be posted. If you need help in a crisis, please visit

If you need to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS), you can find contact details here:​


I am 62 years old male, a chartered accountant that used to work in a government sensitive post with the National Audit Office. (the UK's Supreme Audit Institution).Since I was 28 I suffered from uni-depressions but in 2001 I was diagnosed as Bipolar. Regretfully, when I get a bit manic I tend to complain about the medical staff who are trying their best to help. Alienating my care staff like this does not get me much credits. I was admitted informally twice at the end of last year. When finally discharged from Green Parks House in mid December, I was starting to feel depressed. This continued until end of May bank holiday when I flipped (within a week) to hypomania. Rather than being hospitalised I was transferred to the Home Treatment Team. They have been outstanding!!!Tomorrow my care will be transferred back to Carlton Parade. Thank you, Oxleas.

Dear Dudley

Thank you for your message.

We're pleased to hear that the team has been such a help to you.

Best wishes

Communications Team

Great service, you leave feeling refreshed and ready to tackle the world!

Dear Mohammed

Thank you for your feedback.

It's great to hear that the service has been such a help to you.

We wish you all the best for the future.

Communications Team

Dear Sir/Madam

Within one year I had collapsed twice at my work because of the stress level. I was today controlled by my GP who recommend me to contact you urgently. Could you please contact me ASAP for the appointment?



Reply from Oxleas

Dear Ozgur

Thank you for your message.

Your comments have been passed on to the relevant team, who will be in touch with you shortly.

Lisa Stroulger
Communications Team

Hi I am looking for some councilling or therapy and my gp has recommended time to talk a few times, but when I ring for help I am told you cant help me because I havnt been discharged from oxleas for 5 years. could you confirm this please.


Thank you for your feedback.

We are looking into this and will be in touch with you soon to clarify the situation.

Lisa Stroulger
Communications Team

Thanks very much for such an excellent service! Having a one stop service like this is fantastic. I was seen and treated within an hour. The professional and helpful manner of the staff was reassuring. The doctor I saw was were very skilled and gave very helpful advice. I would strongly recommend the service to others. Well done UCC!

Thanks Michael.

We passed your comments on to the UCC team.

Lisa Stroulger
Communications Team

Awful service. My initial assessment was booked for 17th April. I was telephoned to rebook as the person double-booked. My rescheduled appointment on 23rd was then cancelled via text message with no explanation 2 hours before the appointment was scheduled. I have just telephoned to rebook and was told that I have been discharged! I asked to self refer as is stated above:

You do not have to be referred by a GP to use the service. You may refer yourself if you have mild problems of anxiety or depression and are motivated to work to change the problem by calling 020 3260 1100.

I was told no, I have to go back to my GP. To whom can I direct my complaint?

I am sorry that this was your experience of the team. I have asked the manager to look into what happened on this occasion. In order to help us with this, could you contact me on 020 8319 5551?

In the meantime, I have asked that all staff are reminded that people can self-refer to the service.

Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Maggie Miller
Greenwich Time To Talk Interim Manager

I disagree - I found the Greenwich portion of Oxleas out of the three the most responsive, and Bromley the least.

Greenwich's in-patient unit is the best out of the three of them, too The staff at Woodlands aren't as good with WAAA. And sadly I think those from Anerley, with more challenges, would be better under neighbouring SLaM as - previously, if they had a Lambeth/Lewisham/Croydon GP over the border, would have gone to a SLaM bed. Equally, a Welling resident with a Plumstead GP used to be under Ferryview / OH, but not now.

I assume when you reorganise, then surely it would make sense for those from 'Lesney area' i.e. those that can present to QEH A&E on buses - 469 from Erith, Belvedere, etc, are admitted to the new new Bexley WAAA ward there, and the old 'Millbrook' area, to attend GPH, given that portion of the borough is nearer to Orpington (but a faff to present to PRUH A&E).

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on services. We appreciate your thoughts on the future organisation of inpatient services and will certainly keep this in mind during the planning process.

Iain Dimond
Director of Mental Health and Learning Disability Services.

I have tried calling the Single Point of Access Team between 15.53 and 16.27 hours. The line has been 'busy' on each of the 25 plus attempted calls made. i find it very hard to believe that the only source of contact has been engaged all this time. I need to confirm that a nurse is coming out to me having waited in all day. I have a vac pump that needs changing and
from previous experience tthis is not something that twilight and weekend do. What am i supposed to do?

Unfortunately, that day, the phone lines for Memorial Hospital and the surrounding area were affected by a problem at the local telephone exchange. These have now been resolved. We are sorry that you were unable to contact us that afternoon. Fortunately, you were able to contact us later that day and were visited that evening. As you did, contacting our PALS service on 0800 917 7159 was the right thing to do when you could not contact the service you needed direct. We hope you don't have any such problem in the future.

Connie Greig
Head of Integrated Community Teams

To whom it may concern,

I am hoping to get my girlfriend some counselling and i was wondering how I go about this?

We live in north greenwich and need to find some help as soon as possible.

Please let me know



Dear Jessica

You can ask your GP to refer you to Time to talk or contact Greenwich Time to Talk directly on 0203 260 1100 in order to discuss the counselling needs of your partner.

They should be offered a telephone screening when the team reopens on Tuesday.


David Shaer
Service Manager
Adult Mental Health and Learning Disability Services


Re last post - Mediquip still don't know when they are going to deliver my son's continence pads - despite numerous phone calls and messages and their contact with your service manager. I understand your staff have trouble getting hold of them too. No one at Mediquip seems to have access to any information on my son's deliveries or continence supplies. We seem to have not moved forward in two weeks of contact with them. This is very distressing

Having spoken with you we are pleased that you have now got the supplies you need. We are meeting with Medequip to understand why the supply was disrupted so that it doesn't happen again. We'll call you to give you an update.

Alison Beasley
Head of Complex Wound and Continence Teams

Leave a general comment

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.