Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) - Bexley Bexley

If you are a parent and you have concerns about your child’s mental health, please contact 0203 260 5200 Monday to Friday 9am-5pm.

Please contact the SLP crisis line on 020 3228 5980 Monday to Friday 5pm-10pm and Saturday to Sunday 9am to 10pm.

For all other times please contact the Oxleas Urgent Advice line on 0800 330 8590. Please also note that support is available via Kooth

Provides mental health assessment and treatment services to children, young people and their families/carers living in the borough of Bexley.

It also provides advice, consultation and support to the other individuals and agencies involved in children's care. The service is available Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm and with some additional early morning and evening clinics.

Oxleas Patient Experience survey

The Oxleas Patient Experience survey gives you the opportunity to feedback on the care and treatment you have received. We also encourage your friends, family and carers to also provide feedback. Hearing your views gives us a better understanding of the needs of our patients, families and carers which helps us to make sure that we are providing a good standard of care. 

The short survey only takes a few minutes to complete and you can provide a written comment explaining what you think is working well and what is not. The Patient Experience team will collect the results of the surveys and these are shared with the relevant departments and management teams. This helps us to shape our services to continually improve the quality of the care and treatment we provide.


  • Mental health services: Child and adolescent (CAMHS)

View Larger Map


Bexley CAMHS
Erith Hospital
Park Crescent
Northumberland Heath


Public phone number:

020 3260 5200


I think your treatment of my friend and her family is disgusting, between you and the met police she is now in a position that she is being controlled and abused and physically harmed by a young teenage daughter. How is the system and teams so broken within Bexley that this is allowed to happen and the services think that it is acceptable.

I will be going to the local papers if you this behaviour and neglect continues to happen from your service.

Dear Daniel,

I am really sorry to hear of the difficulties your friend has been experiencing with Bexley CAMHS.

As the Operational Manager of Bexley CAMHS service, I would not want anyone who is accessing the service to have this view.

I would like to understand what has been happening for your friend and her daughter to see how we can resolve and help in alleviating the immense distress that your friend is currently facing with her daughter.

Please do contact me on 0203 260 5200.

Kind Regards

Shamara Bailey
Bexley CAMHS Interim Operational Manager
Children and Young People's Service

I’m so upset CAMHS are discharging my Son after seeing him once “hence he had a good day when they saw him” was suppose to have a meeting last week but my son was self isolating as requested by the school, have heard nothing about another meeting or that it could have been done on Zoom! I’ve left 5 messages in the last week & heard nothing back, everyone working from home, ironically in my sons report it says I need to to speak to mind to help me build up resilience, I was fine until I have repeatedly had to chase CAMHS to no avail, this is now causing my family added undue stress I thought they were suppose to be a support my sons anxiety is now worse than ever. I hope by reaching out in such a public way someone may be able to help & advice, as I’ve been promised help in the past which never comes to fruition. PS it’s heart breaking to hear so many other families also in my position, surely we are suppose to be helping and supporting the next generation with mental health, not adding to the situation that we have today. Let’s hope we don’t have a failed next generation for Special Needs Children & Children especially with “Hidden Disabilities”.

Dear Theresa

We are sorry to hear your concerns about your son's discharge. I understand that CAMHS have been trying to contact you to talk this through, they will continue to try and contact you.


Sheena Gohal
Associate Director, CAMHS

Awful service, daughter had two referrals made via the gp both refused even though child psychologist at acorns (who works for camhs) recommend this was to be the next step in her ‘care’ . School senco referred to chews an appointment made but then cancelled, that was over a year ago still no further in receiving any help or appointments daughter is seriously struggling with her mental health with no help available what should parents do to get an appointment when camhs refuse referrals?!

Dear Donna,

We are very sorry to hear of your experience. A senior colleague in Bexley CAMHS will contact you today to explore options of support available to your daughter.

Warm regards

Sheena Gohal
Associate Director, CAMHS

Please, can a Service Manager or Director contact me a soon as practicably possible?
My child has been prescribed medication, via CAMHS, for some time now. Three/four weeks ago, we missed an appointment with our CAMHS consultant, due to a mixup with the date. Since then I’ve struggled to gain contact with the consultant to arrange another appointment and to request a repeat prescription. Despite me explaining the severity of the situation and the declining state of my child’s mental health, we’re now at the point at which my child has now completely ran out of two of their medications, and running dangerously low on the others.
I spoke with the consultants receptionist yesterday over the phone and I was reassured that a prescription would be arranged today, but this has not happened and I feel that I’ve been given no other choice than to use this VERY public way of asking for help - all other avenues have been exhausted and this is my last resort (Apart from formal complaints procedures).
We’re not asking for much. We only need a repeat prescription for my child’s “Lifesaving” (Lets be honest - That’s what it is!) medication written and an appointment date for the near future, with the consultant. We would be incredibly grateful for help to achieve this!

Dear Hayley

Thank you for your feedback. We understand that you have had discussions with the treating team today and they are in the process of planning a joint review for your child, and that a prescription is ready for collection. We are sorry for any confusion around this.

many thanks

Sheena Gohal
Associate Director, CAMHS

My son was on a waiting list for talking therapy and was waiting for a call back which has never came. I understand what with the pandemic and everything there must be a delay but surely there is some sort of support that can be offered for him. I’m not happy that he has just been left to deal on his own.

Dear Gemma

Thank you for your comment. We understand that your child was closed to CAMHS in October 2020 and a re-referral was accepted to Bexley CAMHS on 12 March 2021.

A member of the service will contact you to advise you of the next steps.

Kind regards

Sheena Gohal
Associate Director, CAMHS

Hi my son got accepted for cahms under 5s last month onbut I haven't hurd anything about this at all I was wondering can some one please talk to me and tell me what's going on as my son is getting worse by the day with attacking everyone in the household
Thanks robyn

Dear Robyn,

Thanks for your comment. We understand that you have now been contacted by a clinician within Bexley CAMHS and that you should expect further contact to progress your son's referral within the next week.

Please do not hesitate to contact us again if you have any queries.

Best wishes,
Dominic Leigh
CAMHS Service Manager

Behaviour that Challenges Support Group for Parents:

We attended the 3 sessions offered to us and found them to be very helpful, this was the best and meaningful support we have ever received.

We received lots of information that helped us understand ASD & ADHD, we were given printouts of the slides so did not have to take down many notes.

It was great to meet other parents who were in a similar situation and share strategies we have put in place that have and have not worked. We were in a safe environment which allowed everyone to openly express without judgement.

Dawn & Dominique were amazing, they listened to our problems and gave us advise and strategies to deal with things in a more positive manner. They were both very experienced and helpful.

For us a very positive experience. The more awareness and understanding we have about ASD/ADHD helps us with detaching from the drama and applying positive strategies. The worst thing about any illness or conditions is not understanding it.

Thank You.

Dear Ram

Thank you for you for your very positive feedback regarding Bexley CAMHS Behaviour that Challenges Support Group for Parents together with the two clinicians that lead the group.

We welcome all feedback which helps us to provide the best type of interventions for the children and young people seen by the service, and to their parents and carers.

We are pleased to hear that this group offered you the right type of information in such a positive way.

Thank you.

Dorothy Pilling, Operational Manager


Dear Natalie

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on our website. We are very sorry that you did not have your calls returned by the clinician.

Following our initial telephone call on Friday, I arranged for the allocated clinician to call you and arrange an appointment for 11 December for a review. I said in our second call that she had been planning to return your call on Friday and can only apologise for the delay.

Although we try to return calls on the day, it is not always possible due other clinical commitments and emergencies.

However I also agreed with you if in the event that your calls are not returned in a timely way for you, to ask to speak to a manager or senior member of staff.

Kind regards

Dorothy Pilling
Bexley CAMHS Operational Manager

Your service is appalling. When you've begged and pleaded enough you are offered an assessment and then told that the hell your child has been going through isn't bad enough and CAMHS refer you to a third party counselling service. You spend 5 months waiting for an assessment from them, only to be told that their services aren't right for your child. So you call CAMHS crying because you can't take anymore, you're offered another 'assessment' and told you'll be put on their waiting list for CBT (no time scale on when your child will be scene). So in one year all you get is dead ends and fobbed off. Being a parent that can't see your child suffer and lets be honest if it had continued it would have become so bad your child would have taken their life, you decide that you will pay privately for treatment because otherwise your child would be dead, private treatment is not cheap and so you sacrifice money from the weekly shop to pay for it, you don't take the kids out anymore to pay for it, the cut back list goes on. And when you have problems with the school and needs CAMHS to talk to them (you're not asking for treatment or an appointment just a phone call) you call CAMHS and the receptionist tells you someone will call you back and nobody does. So CAMHS service lets children suffer needlessly because in a year they have done nothing to help (that doesn't take into account the begging to be scene the year previous to take).

Dear Denise

Thank you for taking the time to contact us, following which one of our clinicians called you to discuss your concerns. You have agreed with the plan for follow up of your son.

Bexley CAMHS understands the distress caused and apologise for the difficulties you have experienced in accessing early help for your son.

Kind regards

Dorothy Pilling
Bexley CAMHS Operational Manager

My son is still waiting for SALT after being referred a few months ago, he has recently be referred to a paediatrician (who is likely to reject the referral) and an educational psychologist (who is likely to do the same or accepts it and is not qualified to diagnose autism) and I was wondering how to self refer my son for an assessment? My HV can see why I'm concerned and it frustrates us both thinking he will have to wait years before getting a diagnosis to get more help and that could not happen until he receives SALT which could also take up to 2 more years. The symptoms he shows are clear and has speech regression as well as being non verbal currently. Could a self referral be a possibility please?

Dear Katie

We are sorry that you have not heard when your son will be seen by the Bexley Speech and Language team.

The manager of the team contacted you yesterday about your son’s referral and was able to assure you that he will be seen in September.

At the assessment the therapists will carry out an initial assessment of your son's speech and language and his social interaction. A care plan will be made with you, to help your son develop his communication skills.

If the concerns about social communication and interaction skills need a referral to a Paediatrician, at this time or later, a referral will be made with you, and the information from the communication assessment will be available for the doctor to support his assessment.

We will contact your Health Visitor to let her know that your son will be seen in September

Kind regards

Lindsay Malekzai
Lead Speech and Language Therapist
Bexley Children's Speech and Language Therapy

I can't even comment on the service I am receiving because we are not receiving any! My daughter had her assessment started but not finished. Was told would get another appointment to finish it. That was Jun/Jul. Since then things have been progressively worse From self harm to running away and despite numerous calls to them, we are still appointmentless. We have only had one call back from the numerous times we have called them. Now we are almost at the point of permanent exclusion from school and still no one is interested in helping my daughter.

Dear Ashleigh

Thank you for taking time to share your experience of Bexley CAMHS. We are sorry for the delay in completing your daughter's assessment and inadequate responses to your phone calls to the service.

I spoke to you this morning and considered the issues you raised with me. As a result, we have now offered your daughter an appointment at 9am tomorrow to complete the initial assessment.

I hope the appointment goes well tomorrow and if you would like to discuss further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards

Reshad Soobratty
Team Manager
Bexley CAMHS

Could you please tell me what the best referral route is for a child suspected as ASD? Is it via Bexley CAMHS or Bexley Community Paediatrics? Can schools make a referral for a child who is educated in one borough but lives in Bexley and has a Bexley GP?

Thanks for your enquiry.

All children with a Bexley GP can be referred for an ASD assessment through their school to Community Paediatrics on the referral forms that schools in Bexley are able to access.

If your child's school is out of area they can request a copy via our Bexley Single Point of Access which can be contacted in the following ways:

Telephone: 0203 004 0092


Kind regards

Stephen Whitmore
Director of Children and Young People's Services

My daughter was referred to CAMHS by our GP in october last year within 5 days of the referral being made a doctor at CAMHS contacted me to discuss what was going on, I was told I would get an appointment for assessment within 5 days which is exactly what happened, after the assesment we had a weekly slot given us which is ongoing, if I ever call to speak to anyone I'm either put straight through or I get a call back within an hour, I cant compliment the staff and the treatment my daughter has been given enough, they have all been truly amazing,

Dear Lisa

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the service you received from Bexley CAMHS, which I have passed on to colleagues. We appreciate your feedback.

kind regards

Dorothy Pilling
Operational Manager
Bexley CAMHS

Thank you to prabishnay ADHD nurse who has supported my daughter with her ADHD and ASd.

She has been so supportive and helped with school issues. We will miss you x

Dear Ashley

Many thanks for your kind words. Working with your daughter and family has been a privilege.

We welcome regular feedback and any ideas you may have on how we can improve our service.

Best wishes to you and your family.


The service CAMHS provided for me was amazing, I am so thankful and grateful for the support they have given me over the years I have worked alongside them. Thank you Sarah and Stephanie for all your work with me, I am cannot express my gratitude enough for helping me in more ways than you can imagine, I honestly don't know where I would be if it wasn't for the wonderful, genuine caring and support given to me by them both. Also thank you to Annette for helping me build such a strong relationship with my mum. You are all such lovely people and the service you provide is life changing so thank you.

Thank you Shannon for your positive feedback regarding your experience of working with Bexley CAMHS, we appreciate and value feedback for our service.

We have shared your kind comments with the clinicians who enjoyed working with you and welcome hearing from you.

Thank you.

Operational Manager

My daughter was referred urgently by our GP, and school, back at the very beginning of December 2015. After an initial assessment she was placed on the waiting list for CBT. She also had an assessment by a psychiatrist. WE ARE NOW 5 MONTHS DOWN THE LINE AS AN URGENT REFERRAL AND HAVING SPOKEN WITH CAMHS LAST WEEK THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHERE OUR DAUGHTER IS ON THE LIST AND HOW MUCH LONGER IT WILL TAKE FOR HER TO START THE CBT THERAPY. We are informed of staff shortages etc and offered medication as "stop gap" to get our daughter through this difficult time until a place for CBT becomes available. This is totally unacceptable, how can a child with an "urgent" referral, that needs a certain therapy, still be on a waiting list 5 months later and there be no idea of when therapy will be offered. What is the point in joining a waiting list in the first place? The young people with mental health problems in the London Borough of Bexley are being let down and left to struggle for too long. I would be interested to know where the governments "extra funding for children's mental health" has gone to? It clearly hasn't reached the London Borough of Bexley.

Dear Kelly

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on our website. We are very sorry that there has been a wait for your daughter's psychological therapy to start.

There is a very high demand for the Bexley Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service but we work hard to see children and young people at the earliest opportunity, so that they can recover as quickly as possible. The government has made additional funding available for child mental health services in Bexley. This funding is being used to establish a community mental health outreach service which works with schools and GPs and this will be in place over the coming months.

We would like to speak with you directly about your daughter's treatment and we have arranged a telephone call with you, between 1.30 pm and 2.30 pm today. In the meantime, we can confirm that we have identified a treatment appointment for your daughter on 6th May at 11am and can discuss this with you in our telephone call.

Kind regards

Dorothy Pilling
Bexley CAMHS Operational Manager

I can confirm that Dorothy did exactly as she said she would and telephoned me, also organising a treatment appointment for my daughter. Dorothy was very friendly, polite and informative about some of the waiting issues they are currently experiencing for CBT at CAMHS Bexley. Finally there seems to be a purposeful way forward for our daughter.

Thank you Dorothy.

My GP referred my daughter urgently - I called CAMHS to make sure the letter had arrived. I was told I would have to wait until it was discussed in a referral meeting - 4 day wait. I then waited another 4 days and still have not heard anything. Meanwhile the school nurse also wrote a supporting letter as my daughter was getting worse, only to be told that nothing had been done about it and no decision had been made. Meanwhile my daughter is suffering everyday and so are we. Where is the help we need? Is this how an urgent referral is treated?

Dear Dawn

We are very sorry to hear that you do not feel you are getting help for your daughter.

We would like to be able to talk with you so that your daughter is able to get the help she needs.

Please could you contact Dorothy Pilling to discuss on 020 3260 5200.

Thank you I spoke to Dorothy following my comments. She has now discussed my daughter's referral with me and the next steps that will be taken. Very understanding and explanatory. Feel very supported now.

Thank you

we asked for our daughter to be discharged from Bexley CAMHS as basically the service we received was rubbish and the recent issue just about sums it up!

we asked for the discharge on 2nd April and were told that a letter would be sent to ut GP informing them of the discharge and notifying them of the medication my daughter was on.

Last night 27th April my daughter had a GP appointment to get a new prescription only to be told that they had not received any notice from CAMHS.

I called CAMHS today (28th April) nearly 4 weeks after our discharge request and asked for the note to be faxed to our GP as we needed a new prescription and the GP surgery was closer to home than Highpoint House - I was told this would be done!

I have just received a voicemail from CAMHS saying that a prescription was ready to be collected from Highpoint house and the discharge note was being sent to my home!!!! I am note sure what planet people are on as my requested was very simple.

Our whole experience of CAMHS has been horrendous and we would tell people to avoid it like the plague if they asked our opinion on the service.

Dear James

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you are so unhappy with the service your family has received. We take all feedback very seriously and would very much like to meet with you to talk about your experience in more detail.

It is very difficult to resolve the issues you raised, or go into them online. Please could you contact Dorothy Pilling to organise a convent time to meet on 020 3260 5200?

Kind regards

Stephen Whitmore
Children and Young People's Services

Once again I have heard from a family in Bexley who have not been able to access help and support for their child via CAMHS and have been told that their child "does not meet the criteria". I was told the same for my child.

Obviously your "criteria" is not understood. If it was then GPS would not waste their time and money making referrals and parents like me would not be waiting for weeks (and some times months) only to be told that you can not help.

Dear Beverley

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on the Oxleas website. I am afraid we cannot comment on what you have heard about another child.

We are sorry that Bexley CAMHS was not the right service to help you with your family’s needs in 2013. It is clear that you have many challenges to manage and we are aware that it can be frustrating and exhausting when you are trying so hard to find the right support for her and for yourselves.

Unfortunately, our CAMH Service is not commissioned to run the type of social forums children like yours need in order to understand and build relationships and gain confidence and self-esteem. It may not have been clear to your GP at the time of referral that these may be the most helpful ways forward for you. The purpose of the initial meeting at CAMHS is to find out if there is a moderate to severe mental health problem for the child and this is not always clear from the referral letter.

We are very sorry that we were not the right service for your family at the time of your referral to us. We wish you well for the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Whitmore
Director of Children and Young People’s Services

Well what can I say so unreliable espically when the help and support is needed the most. I have been finding it difficult to make an appointment arranged due to work and because of this My care coordinator has lost contact with me and have not heard about an appointment since. the day I'm able to make an appointment, the person I see is on leave. Typical. Espically when the help and support is needed the most. Not happy with the service

Hi Taylor

I'm the team manager of Greenwich CAMHS.

I have seen the message you left on the Oxleas web site and am contacting you to find out when it would be convenient to give you a call.

I did try calling you at about 6:15pm on Wednesday but got no response.

Would you let me know when you are available to speak today (Thursday) so I can give you a call and work out how best to sort out the difficulties you are experiencing.


0203 260 5277