Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS) - Bexley Bexley

Provides mental health assessment and treatment services to children, young people and their families/carers living in the borough of Bexley.

It also provides advice, consultation and support to the other individuals and agencies involved in children's care. The service is available Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm and with some additional early morning and evening clinics.

Categories

  • Mental health services: Child and adolescent (CAMHS)

Related Information


View Larger Map

How to find us:

Bus routes:    
89, 244, 486

Trains:
The nearest train station is Welling which is a bus ride away. You can also use Woolwich Arsenal station and take bus 244.

Parking:
Children & Family/Disabled Parking is available directly outside OPD. 
Further onsite parking available at Memorial Hospital

Address:

Outpaitents Department
Memorial Hospital
Shooters Hill
London

SE18 3RG

Public phone number:

0203 260 5200

Video:
I've got this letter

8 Comments

Well what can I say so unreliable espically when the help and support is needed the most. I have been finding it difficult to make an appointment arranged due to work and because of this My care coordinator has lost contact with me and have not heard about an appointment since. the day I'm able to make an appointment, the person I see is on leave. Typical. Espically when the help and support is needed the most. Not happy with the service

Hi Taylor

I'm the team manager of Greenwich CAMHS.

I have seen the message you left on the Oxleas web site and am contacting you to find out when it would be convenient to give you a call.

I did try calling you at about 6:15pm on Wednesday but got no response.

Would you let me know when you are available to speak today (Thursday) so I can give you a call and work out how best to sort out the difficulties you are experiencing.

Thanks

Mark
0203 260 5277

Mark.Perry@oxleas.nhs.uk

Once again I have heard from a family in Bexley who have not been able to access help and support for their child via CAMHS and have been told that their child "does not meet the criteria". I was told the same for my child.

Obviously your "criteria" is not understood. If it was then GPS would not waste their time and money making referrals and parents like me would not be waiting for weeks (and some times months) only to be told that you can not help.

Dear Beverley

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on the Oxleas website. I am afraid we cannot comment on what you have heard about another child.

We are sorry that Bexley CAMHS was not the right service to help you with your family’s needs in 2013. It is clear that you have many challenges to manage and we are aware that it can be frustrating and exhausting when you are trying so hard to find the right support for her and for yourselves.

Unfortunately, our CAMH Service is not commissioned to run the type of social forums children like yours need in order to understand and build relationships and gain confidence and self-esteem. It may not have been clear to your GP at the time of referral that these may be the most helpful ways forward for you. The purpose of the initial meeting at CAMHS is to find out if there is a moderate to severe mental health problem for the child and this is not always clear from the referral letter.

We are very sorry that we were not the right service for your family at the time of your referral to us. We wish you well for the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Whitmore
Director of Children and Young People’s Services

we asked for our daughter to be discharged from Bexley CAMHS as basically the service we received was rubbish and the recent issue just about sums it up!

we asked for the discharge on 2nd April and were told that a letter would be sent to ut GP informing them of the discharge and notifying them of the medication my daughter was on.

Last night 27th April my daughter had a GP appointment to get a new prescription only to be told that they had not received any notice from CAMHS.

I called CAMHS today (28th April) nearly 4 weeks after our discharge request and asked for the note to be faxed to our GP as we needed a new prescription and the GP surgery was closer to home than Highpoint House - I was told this would be done!

I have just received a voicemail from CAMHS saying that a prescription was ready to be collected from Highpoint house and the discharge note was being sent to my home!!!! I am note sure what planet people are on as my requested was very simple.

Our whole experience of CAMHS has been horrendous and we would tell people to avoid it like the plague if they asked our opinion on the service.

Dear James

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you are so unhappy with the service your family has received. We take all feedback very seriously and would very much like to meet with you to talk about your experience in more detail.

It is very difficult to resolve the issues you raised, or go into them online. Please could you contact Dorothy Pilling to organise a convent time to meet on 020 3260 5200?

Kind regards

Stephen Whitmore
Director
Children and Young People's Services

My GP referred my daughter urgently - I called CAMHS to make sure the letter had arrived. I was told I would have to wait until it was discussed in a referral meeting - 4 day wait. I then waited another 4 days and still have not heard anything. Meanwhile the school nurse also wrote a supporting letter as my daughter was getting worse, only to be told that nothing had been done about it and no decision had been made. Meanwhile my daughter is suffering everyday and so are we. Where is the help we need? Is this how an urgent referral is treated?

Dear Dawn

We are very sorry to hear that you do not feel you are getting help for your daughter.

We would like to be able to talk with you so that your daughter is able to get the help she needs.

Please could you contact Dorothy Pilling to discuss on 020 3260 5200.

Thank you I spoke to Dorothy following my comments. She has now discussed my daughter's referral with me and the next steps that will be taken. Very understanding and explanatory. Feel very supported now.

Thank you

My daughter was referred urgently by our GP, and school, back at the very beginning of December 2015. After an initial assessment she was placed on the waiting list for CBT. She also had an assessment by a psychiatrist. WE ARE NOW 5 MONTHS DOWN THE LINE AS AN URGENT REFERRAL AND HAVING SPOKEN WITH CAMHS LAST WEEK THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHERE OUR DAUGHTER IS ON THE LIST AND HOW MUCH LONGER IT WILL TAKE FOR HER TO START THE CBT THERAPY. We are informed of staff shortages etc and offered medication as "stop gap" to get our daughter through this difficult time until a place for CBT becomes available. This is totally unacceptable, how can a child with an "urgent" referral, that needs a certain therapy, still be on a waiting list 5 months later and there be no idea of when therapy will be offered. What is the point in joining a waiting list in the first place? The young people with mental health problems in the London Borough of Bexley are being let down and left to struggle for too long. I would be interested to know where the governments "extra funding for children's mental health" has gone to? It clearly hasn't reached the London Borough of Bexley.

Dear Kelly

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on our website. We are very sorry that there has been a wait for your daughter's psychological therapy to start.

There is a very high demand for the Bexley Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service but we work hard to see children and young people at the earliest opportunity, so that they can recover as quickly as possible. The government has made additional funding available for child mental health services in Bexley. This funding is being used to establish a community mental health outreach service which works with schools and GPs and this will be in place over the coming months.

We would like to speak with you directly about your daughter's treatment and we have arranged a telephone call with you, between 1.30 pm and 2.30 pm today. In the meantime, we can confirm that we have identified a treatment appointment for your daughter on 6th May at 11am and can discuss this with you in our telephone call.

Kind regards

Dorothy Pilling
Bexley CAMHS Operational Manager

I can confirm that Dorothy did exactly as she said she would and telephoned me, also organising a treatment appointment for my daughter. Dorothy was very friendly, polite and informative about some of the waiting issues they are currently experiencing for CBT at CAMHS Bexley. Finally there seems to be a purposeful way forward for our daughter.

Thank you Dorothy.

The service CAMHS provided for me was amazing, I am so thankful and grateful for the support they have given me over the years I have worked alongside them. Thank you Sarah and Stephanie for all your work with me, I am cannot express my gratitude enough for helping me in more ways than you can imagine, I honestly don't know where I would be if it wasn't for the wonderful, genuine caring and support given to me by them both. Also thank you to Annette for helping me build such a strong relationship with my mum. You are all such lovely people and the service you provide is life changing so thank you.

Thank you Shannon for your positive feedback regarding your experience of working with Bexley CAMHS, we appreciate and value feedback for our service.

We have shared your kind comments with the clinicians who enjoyed working with you and welcome hearing from you.

Thank you.

Dorothy
Operational Manager

Thank you to prabishnay ADHD nurse who has supported my daughter with her ADHD and ASd.

She has been so supportive and helped with school issues. We will miss you x

Dear Ashley

Many thanks for your kind words. Working with your daughter and family has been a privilege.

We welcome regular feedback and any ideas you may have on how we can improve our service.

Best wishes to you and your family.

Prabashny

My daughter was referred to CAMHS by our GP in october last year within 5 days of the referral being made a doctor at CAMHS contacted me to discuss what was going on, I was told I would get an appointment for assessment within 5 days which is exactly what happened, after the assesment we had a weekly slot given us which is ongoing, if I ever call to speak to anyone I'm either put straight through or I get a call back within an hour, I cant compliment the staff and the treatment my daughter has been given enough, they have all been truly amazing,

Dear Lisa

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the service you received from Bexley CAMHS, which I have passed on to colleagues. We appreciate your feedback.

kind regards

Dorothy Pilling
Operational Manager
Bexley CAMHS

Tell us what you think

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.