District Nursing Service Greenwich

The District Nursing Service, also known as community nursing, provides nursing treatment at home for patients who have a recognised nursing need. The District Nursing Service offers the following planned individualised, patient-centred care:

  • Wound prevention, assessment and management
  • Post-operative care
  • Medications management
  • Long Term Conditions management
  • Catheter care
  • End of Life/palliative care, including care for terminally ill patients
  • Bereavement visits and referrals to other agencies
  • Health education, promotion and advice about how you can care for yourself.

District nurses work closely with other professionals, where appropriate, including community matrons, podiatrists, tissue viability nurses, diabetes nurses and the continence advisory service, to coordinate the patient’s case management, treatment and care.

How to access this service

Referrals are accepted from:

  • Greenwich residents
  • Those registered with a GP in Greenwich (self referrals)
  • Health and social care professionals.

The District Nursing Service is for those people who have a clear need for skilled nursing care interventions.

Home visits are primarily for housebound patients. As the patient’s condition improves he/she may be asked to visit a practice nurse at the surgery or attend a specialist clinic run by the district nursing team.

Oxleas Patient Experience survey

The Oxleas Patient Experience survey gives you the opportunity to feedback on the care and treatment you have received. We also encourage your friends, family and carers to also provide feedback. Hearing your views gives us a better understanding of the needs of our patients, families and carers which helps us to make sure that we are providing a good standard of care. 

The short survey only takes a few minutes to complete and you can provide a written comment explaining what you think is working well and what is not. The Patient Experience team will collect the results of the surveys and these are shared with the relevant departments and management teams. This helps us to shape our services to continually improve the quality of the care and treatment we provide.


  • Community health services (adults)

Services provided

  • Community nursing

Related Information

Public phone number:

Call our Central Access Team on 020 8320 3550

Monday to Friday
8am to 6pm

Evening and Night Service
6pm to 11pm

Weekends and Bank Holidays
8am to 5pm

Fax number:

020 8320 3567

Email address:



Hi ,we are grateful for the good care provided by District nurse Akissi to My mother
Many thanks to greenwich district nurses team .

Hi Duja,

Thank you for writing to us about the great care your mother has received from Akissi, one of our District Nurses. We will pass the compliment to her and her managers.

We really appreciate it when patients, families and carers take the time to send us feedback. Please wish your mother all the best from us too.



Rachel Matheson
Associate Director for Adult Community Services
Greenwich Directorate

My dad been in hospital having life saving surgery. He was discharged and told that a nurse would be round to see him to change the dressings. Since being at home my mum received a call from a district nurse who asked if my dad could walk. My mum replied that he can just manage to walk to the toilet, the reply she got was as he can walk he can walk to the GPs surgery to get hes dressings changed. I think this is out of order as my dad cannot walk that far. The hospital made the referral for a district nurse but they just dont seem to care.

Hi Sarah,
We are sorry to hear of your experience in accessing the District Nurse service for your father. The Matron for District Nurses, Kay (Sharon) Wilson-Nivet (sharon.wilson-nivet1@nhs.net) will contact you to discuss your concerns. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we wish your father all the best for his recovery.

Rachel Matheson
Associate Director for Adult Community Services

My husband had an accident recently. He has broken his neck in two places. He also has cuts to his head. He has been discharged from the hospital and his home under my care. The cuts to his head were treated whilst in hospital; but unfortunately has some complications regarding the healing process. My husband is in an immobilising collar; due to his injuries. I rang my GP regarding this matter, he said that he would request the community nursing team to visit him urgently. I rang the community nursing team today at 11:40 to ask when they would be able to visit my husband. I was told by the lady that l spoke to that my GP had not sent a referral to them regarding a visit to my husband. She said for me to contact our surgery to query this matter. I was ringing the surgery and whilst waiting for them to answer, l took a call from my landline phone. It was another lady at the community nursing team. She told that in fact my GP had referred him to the team. Then said that my husband would not be able to seen as they had a number of patients that needed to be seen. I asked whether he could be seen tomorrow and was initially told no. I asked if he could be seen at the weekend. The lady replied that he would not be seen at the weekend. I then said that would mean that he will not been seen for five days. She said he may been seen tomorrow. I asked her to please tell me if my husband could not be seen tomorrow to tell me now and l will ring my GP and l will try and find if there is another alternative. She then said he will be seen tomorrow. I said you will see him tomorrow. She said not me personally. I said l know, but one of your team will. I do realise that all NHS staff are under tremendous pressure and l do not expect to jump any queue or receive preferential treatment. I have followed the procedure by asking my GP about the injury to his head. I did not expect the lady l spoke to react in this way and her attitude to say the least was not professional and very, very unhelpful, Hopefully, my husband will have a visit tomorrow. But, l am not confident about that, by the way my request was handled today.

Dear Anita

We are sorry for your experience. The Service Manager has now made contact and please do contact me on the number provided if you have any further concerns.

Kind regards

Angie Miller
Service Manager for Adult Community Services (Greenwich)

Further to my comments of 28th February I was contacted by Connie Greig on 13th March. Even though this phone call did not transpire, sadly, in an extra call for my elderly father, it did however result in a reassessment of my mothers needs. This was done very quickly, by early the next morning in fact and with a follow up call on the 15th March.
I was reassured that the district nurses are only a phone call call away should my brother feel he needs them.
Thank you for your help.

Dear Susan

Thank you for taking the time to write a reply. We are pleased that you feel reassured and the nurses are happy to support in future if you have any further concerns.

Wishing you and your family all the best.

Angie Miller
Service Manager for Adult Community Services (Greenwich)

I would like so say what a fantastic team of district nurses working for you, I would like to say I have the utmost respect .
for the treatment they are showing to my partner, the care and attention they are showing her is exceptional ensuring her needs are fully met.
They explain the treatment they are about to give and always ask her and myself if we are happy to have the treatment they are about to give and the whole time are telling her what they are doing, they have always given the greatest of care and consideration while carrying out any treatment in a very dignified manor.
I would like to say the care that is being provided by the nurses is second to none and in my opinion could not be faulted.
When we have need your out of hours team they have been just as committed as the day staff, I would like to say thank you to all the staff looking after my partner including Melrose who has shown concern not only to my partner but also myself.
I would just like to add if anyone complains about the team you are sending to us tell them to get a life or just send them around to me.
Again I will never be able to thank your staff enough for the way they are looking after my partner.

Dear John

Thank you for the complimentary comments about the District Nurses.

I understand that the nurses have been caring for your partner, jointly with the nurses from the Palliative Care Team.

I will pass on your comments to the District Nursing Team and also to the Palliative Care Team. The nurses really appreciate that you have taken the time to post such positive feedback, and I am pleased that your partner received the best quality care from a dedicated, skilled and compassionate team.

Best wishes

Connie Greig
Service Lead for District Nursing and Long Term Conditions

Last visit today from the Woolwich team district nurses ...because I am healed !!!
What amazing women ...who have healed my leg with patience kindness and knowledge
Thank You so much ...
Always smiling always patient , involving me in the healing procedure
I am so grateful for all the nurses care.
I was so scared I would never heal...and here I am with the no fuss efficient
district nurse hands on care...
Thank You ...Awesome District Nurses ( Woolwich district)

Dear Lorraine

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Woolwich District Nursing Team.

We are grateful for you taking the time to provide us with this very kind feedback and we do appreciate you sharing your experience with us.

We have passed your thanks to the relevant members of staff.

We wish you well for the future and pleased you have had a positive outcome.

kind regards

Angie Miller
Service Manager for Adult Community Services (Greenwich)

I just wanted to say a big Thankyou to one of the district nurses who came to visit me due to my medical condition, I left hospital with no after care advice or wasn't given any extra supplies for my catheter. On the first visit the nurse was very caring and ordered everything for me and it was all sent to my home address! I appreciate the care Thankyou.

Dear Mahtaj

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on the excellent service you received from Nicole, one of the nurses from the Plumstead District Nursing Team.

I will pass on your comments to Nicole and her manager Lisa, and I know that she and the team will appreciate your kind words.

With kind regards

Liz Penn
Head of Long Term Conditions

I just wish to say how grateful I am for the care my father has received from your team since his discharge from hospital. You have worked to find the equipment he needs and have offered both of us extra help to ensure he is as comfortable as possible. You are a truly excellent and under appreciated team. Thank you.

Dear Claire

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback on the excellent care your father has received from the district nursing team. I will pass on your kind words to the team and I know they will be delighted that the care they have delivered has been so appreciated.

Kind regards
Liz Penn
Head of Long Term Conditions

My father was due to receive lunch time medication management from the District Nurse commencing 8th August 2016. On 7th August 2016 he was admitted to hospital in Critical Care where he remains. First thing on 8th August I called the Central Access Team and cancelled his district nurse visits until further notice. Unfortunately in the past 10 days, and whilst my father is still in Critical Care, the district nurse has turned up 3 times - randomly (once at 9.58 a.m. per CCTV!) to administer my father's lunch time medication. This has really upset my mother who is emotionally struggling with my father being in hospital. The Central Access Team has now been told THREE TIMES to cancel all future visits until further notice. Not sure how many more times they need to be told?!

Dear Jo

I have investigated your concerns. The central access team passed your message onto the district nursing team correctly, but this was not actioned in a timely manner by the district nursing service, therefore they visited and contacted your mother mistakenly. The team have been advised of their mistake and are truly sorry.

Please accept our sincere apologies for causing distress to you and your mother.

Yours sincerely

Karen Rodwell,
Modern Matron,
District Nursing service

Firstly I'd like to say how disappointed I am about the district nurse service I received yesterday. This was supposed to be very routine very quick and easy catheter change but this turned into a bit of a nightmare for me personally. So basically a nurse turned up with a trainee nurse to change my catheter. I already had a catheter delivered so this was supposed so the most experienced of the two nurses began to insert the catheter. She inserted the catheter and there appeared to be quite a long length left. I couldn't see this at first as I was lying down but my PA could see that it was considerably shorter than the one I just had. My PA voiced his concerns but was told by the nurse that she done this many times and that was enough of the catheter in so she then started to inflate the balloon there is still no flow of urine in into the bag. We then waited for some time for it to flow but there was still nothing. The nurse decided then to remove the catheter along with a very large blood clot. The decision was made to put in the second catheter with the same affect no flow. I was then left for some 26 minutes to basically sweat it out whilst another district nurse was called out. The second nurse inserted the catheter the small amount showing at the end and the flow started them along with a lot of blood. So I'm now left with a penis which is bleeding and was bleeding last night and also have small dots of blood this morning.

As you can imagine I'm extremely frustrated angry and quite bloody to be honest. I can't believe a district nurse let this happen as I have a lot of trust in them and depend on them hell of a lot.

I'm just very worried that the balloon was inflated whilst in my sphincter and just concerned as to what damage this may have done. I'm also bleeding from the end of my penis. Can't believe this has happened as this district nurse kept on explaining as to how much experience she had had in this field.

I would like to put on record the second nurse who successfully inserted the catheter was excellent no problems at all with her what's so ever.

Thanks for reading.

Dear Martin,

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding your experience. Our Head of District Nursing will make contact with you on Monday but if this date is not convenient please call the office on 020 8319 7103 where Cheryl Maund will be able to schedule convenient time for you.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Burchell
Clinical Director
Adult Community Services

Your Community Nursing Sister visited me unexpectedly this afternoon, but was the best news I got this year. My urinary catheter needed changing, so Sister managed everything professionally but also with an eye to all the pain involved. Thank you very much.

Dear Damien

Thank you for your kind comments, regarding the nursing care you received by the Woolwich Team District Nurses.

I am delighted to hear that the team Sister was able to provide you with an holistic assessment including addressing your pain and discomfort.

I have forwarded your comments to the Team leader to share with the Team Sister, nurses really appreciate hearing positive feedback.

Thank you

Connie Greig
Head of District Nursing

Fortunately I have reached the age of 76 without needing the help of a district nurse.
However, I have just been discharged from Queen Elizabeth Hospital after being very sick with a bowel, urine and chest infection. This has left me extremely weak and I have also developed another urine infection.
Due to my overall weakened state I arranged for my GP to arrange my "flu" injection at home.
The District nurse rang to say that she would be with me between 12noon and 2pm. on Wednesday. She had not arrived by 4pm. so I rang the surgery and was informed that she had picked up the necessary injection for me that morning and would definitely be there soon.
!!!!!!No one arrived!!!

Mine was not an urgent case and I had my wife at home with me. I have put pen to paper as I can envisage a little old man or lady sitting waiting and worrying and in this day and age with multi communication systems I see no need for this poor service.
It is now 11am.on Thursday and I still have heard nothing.

Dear Walter

I am sorry to hear that you have been experiencing problems obtaining a visit from the District Nursing Service. I understand that one of the Community Staff Nurses from the Woolwich Team has visited you this morning to administer your flu vaccination.

Once again, please accept our apologies on behalf of the service and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment.

Kind regards


My immobile, palliative care mother-in-law has had the wrong size incontinence pads delivered. Despite phoning twice this week and being assured that this would be sorted it is still ongoing. My sister-in-law expected a phone call Friday - never happened. Have had to resort to going to Boots the Chemist to purchase a pack of pads that are but all means flimsy. My mother in law has carers visit 3 times a day to change her. Thanks to no communication she is now sitting in a pool of her own urine.

As for getting through on the phone and having to wait, whats the point in leaving feedback when nothing is done about the poor answering service let alone communication. It's not like people who use this service don't have anything better to do.
Bank Holiday weekend so my poor mother-in-law will just have to sit and wait.

Dear Gillian

I'm very sorry that your mother-in-law experienced difficulty in obtaining the correct products for her needs and apologise for any distress this caused.

I'm pleased we were able to provide emergency continence products for her on bank holiday Monday. She should now routinely be receiving these from us.

If you have any further problems with supplies please contact Liz Penn, our Head of Service for Long Term Conditions on 020 8319 7118.

Yours sincerely

Keith Soper
Director of Adult Community Services

My wife spent 5 weeks in hospital 2 of which was in Critical Care. After which she was moved in to a trauma ward. Part of her treatment was to have a large skin graph to her leg. This was to be dressed every third day by a district nurse. The first week everything went well then after that the service became a complete joke.
When the nurse was due to come they never did. So we rang their contact number where after the same information was asked over and over again we were told every time that someone would ring, this of course never happened during the day. Once we rung after 6 o`clock and then someone did return our call, and we were told that "the twilight team never changed dressing" . which begs the question what do they do?.
At the time of this moan we have made four calls over the last 26 hours and have been told each time " someone will call you back".
We are still waiting.

Dear Stephen

I understand that Connie Greig, Head of Integrated Community Teams, has recently spoken with both yourself and your wife and confirmed that she would visit your wife today. A visit had also taken place yesterday and so it was agreed that your wife's Monday appointment would be brought forward to Sunday this week.

If you have any further queries, please do call Connie on 020 8319 7103.


Keith Soper
Service Director

Absolutely disgusted with the aftercare or lack there I've received since coming out of hospital a week and a half ago. Supposed to have a nurse daily to clean a wound and change the dressing but one has only showed up three times in that space of time. Fed up of keeping ringing up and being told "well, they can show up anytime up until half five" and nobody shows up anyway. No point of me ringing up after half five cause nobody will be available to come out so it means I'll have to wait until the next day in which case I'll jus be going through the same rubbish again.

Dear Gary

I understand that you were visited by Community Staff Nurse, Alisa Archer-Portillo yesterday and reviewed. The original referral received from the hospital had identified you required support with Stoma care, however, your re-assessment highlighted you have an abdominal abscess that needs to be dressed daily and you will now receive the required daily visits.

If you have any concerns please do contact Connie Greig, Head of Integrated Community Teams, on 020 8319 7140.

Kind regards

Keith Soper
Service Director

I am so disgusted!!! 20 minutes on the phone waiting for someone to answer. What is going on with your service?! Thank goodness this is not an emergency service because it is absolutely terrible.

Thank you June for taking time to leave your feedback.

I am sorry that you experienced a delay in having your telephone call answered.

As the service manager for this team, I am looking at ways of how capacity can be increased to meet the high number of calls.

Please contact me on 020 8319 7154 if you would to discuss your concerns further with me.

Kind regards

Liz Penn
Service Manager for Long Term Conditions

I am disgusted that today no one has been in to give my elderley mum her morning insulin injection. This is the 2nd time as last wednesday they turned up at 3 o clock which is no good when she has the 2nd dose at 5.30. District nurse comes in every weekday morning to give the insulin aroung 9 o clock ish. It is not good enough when it is something so important that a diabetic has there insulin on time.

Dear Karen

We are sorry your mother had not been visited on the 25th. Your feedback is very important in helping us improve our services.

It would therefore be very helpful to know some further details so that I can undertake an investigation.

Will you kindly contact me on 020 8319 7154?

Kind regards

Liz Penn
Service Manager, Long Term Conditions.

I have just spent over 20 mins on hold trying to get through to the single access team. When the phone was answered there was no apology, I said I was just about to hang up as i'd been waiting 20 mins and the person on the other end of the phone said to me that some people had been waiting 40 mins (as if that was supposed to make me feel better!). I asked how many operators they had there and she told me only two but there was supposed to be seven! Not to mention, I found her very rude and after she'd tried to deal with my query she practically put the phone down on me. I was ringing to chase a referrel for a chair for my mother which was faxed to the single access team at the end of October from the community assessment rehab team. However, the operator told me that there was nothing on the system, even though the Comm assessment rehab team told me that they had checked the referral had been received by the district nurses and it had. Considering the original referral was made by my mum's doctor 0n 26 September for her to have a special chair and I'm still being passed from pillar to post I find this very frustrating. Not to mention the costs of all the phonecalls. I think if your operators were not so stressed at having to do the job of what should be seven people they would be more empathetic and curteous to the public - something which I assume they are trained to be?

Dear Jan

Thank you for your comments, we will investigate this matter further with the issues with the SPA team phone service and respond to you as soon as is possible.

Kind regards

Beverley Williams
Adult Community Services

Dear Jan

Thank you for your feedback and our conversation today.

I will be taking back your comments to the member of the Single Point of access team as per our conversation today. I will contact you tomorrow, as promised, to update you.

Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Kind regards

Karen Rodwell
Head of Integrated Community Teams:

we have now been trying for 3 days to speak to district nurses department still no response after hours trying and being on hold waiting for the single point of access team to answer then being told that they have sent messages but no reply from district nurse team

Dear Colin (Pamela's husband)

Thank you for your feedback and our conversation today.

I have taken back your comments to the single point of Access to ensure they make every effort to answer the calls within a set time.

As per our discussion today your District Nursing team has contacted you and made an appointment with your wife as per your request.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words about the District Nursing team and I will ensure I relay them to the team.

Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

Kind regards

Karen Rodwell
Head of Integrated Community Teams

i wasted hours yesterday trying to get through constantly engaged got through told they would send message to district nurses waited till late afternoon finally got through to single point of access team told they would send another message still no response.this morning waited ages for single point access team to answer now waiting for response from district nurses glad this isnt an emergency

My father passed away last week and generally the district nurses that tended to him were exceptional and for that we thank you all greatly.

However we're now being frustrated by the fact that we have been left with a sharps box, the DN that collected the syringe driver refused to take it away with her and although I have tried I cannot dispose of it via the GP or local pharmacist (I've tried a few) they all advise it is the DNs responsibility. I have left a number of messages for the DN service and am told someone will contact me to arrange collection but so far no response. There is enough to do for a family at this sad time without having to chase something like this, I am happy to drop it off somewhere if someone would just tell me where.


Dear Alison

I have spoken to the District Nursing Forum Lead, Lynne Fitzpatrick. Lynne has arranged for the sharps box to be picked up today.

I am sorry, that you have had difficulties arranging for the disposal of this.

Please call me if I can be of any further assistance.


Connie Greig
Head of Integrated Community Teams
020 8319 7140

I have been reading through the comments left here and they are on the whole not very good so I must disagree I have had the district nurses round over the last few weeks and I would like to thank them what a lovely bunch of ladies they are always smiling and helpful keep up the good work ladies and thank you again

Dear Irene

On behalf of Jane Wells, Service Director for Adult Community Services and myself Liz Penn, Service Manager for Long Term Conditions, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment which recognises and appreciates the dedication, hard work and care that our wonderful district nurses provide.

I will be sure to pass your thanks on to the team of nurses that cared so well for you.

Thank you again.


What a shame this service is struggling. In general I have received good service from the trust, but this time the response has been poor. The receptionist or person managing calls was brusque rude, pointed out how busy they were she sighed tutted , etc. Another colleague put the phone down as apparently he couldn't understand me. No one knew what had preceded the call even though as liver transplant I have had quite a lot to do with health and social services over the past few years. Still no history seemed available, I was asked each time for the story why did I need a dressing change, ( GP mainains that they organised the distrcict nurse). I was so fed up I considerd getting a lift into town to visit the walk in centre in Soho or reluctantly a trip to A&E or a call to Kings. What a waste of resources that would be I just need a small dressing changed. Waited in all day yesterday with no visit, apparently someone is coming today lets see....

Dear Charlotte

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you felt your experience of this service was unsatisfactory and we will be contacting you directly to try to resolve this matter.

Kind regards

Karen Rodwell
Head of Integrated Community Teams

I have tried calling the Single Point of Access Team between 15.53 and 16.27 hours. The line has been 'busy' on each of the 25 plus attempted calls made. i find it very hard to believe that the only source of contact has been engaged all this time. I need to confirm that a nurse is coming out to me having waited in all day. I have a vac pump that needs changing and
from previous experience tthis is not something that twilight and weekend do. What am i supposed to do?

Unfortunately, that day, the phone lines for Memorial Hospital and the surrounding area were affected by a problem at the local telephone exchange. These have now been resolved. We are sorry that you were unable to contact us that afternoon. Fortunately, you were able to contact us later that day and were visited that evening. As you did, contacting our PALS service on 0800 917 7159 was the right thing to do when you could not contact the service you needed direct. We hope you don't have any such problem in the future.

Connie Greig
Head of Integrated Community Teams

Tell us what you think

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.