District Nursing Service Bexley

This team provides planned and unplanned care 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for housebound patients who are registered with a GP in the borough of Bexley.

Services include: 

  • Wound prevention, assessment and management
  • Post-operative care
  • Medications management
  • Long Term Conditions management
  • Stoma care
  • Catheter care
  • End of Life/palliative care, including care for terminally ill patients
  • Bereavement visits and referrals to other agencies
  • Health education, promotion and advice about how you can care for yourself.

Categories

  • Community health services (adults)

Related Information

Public phone number:

Call our Central Access Team on 020 8320 3550

Monday to Sunday
8am to 11pm

Night Service
11pm to 8am

Fax number:

020 8320 3567

Email address:

oxl-tr.CentralAccessTeam@nhs.net

9 Comments

I just wish to say that having the Bexley District Nursing Team's help with providing palliative care for my late husband was invaluable to me. I was trying to go it alone but it did become too difficult for me to manage when my husband could no longer get in and out of bed. The Team were professional, efficient and kind and considerate throughout the last period of my husband's illness after he left the Greenwich & Bexley Community Hospice to return home. It was also comforting to know that there was someone I could call on day or night when necessary, so thank you all.

Dear Mercia

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. I will make sure that your kind words are passed on to the Bexley District Nursing team.

Please accept condolences from myself and the District Nurses on your sad loss.

Liz Penn
Service Manager - Long Term Conditions

Dear District Nursing Team for Bexley/Plas Medygg Practice.

Thank you so much for all your help and assistance through the years with my father - Charles - who passed away in December. I would have sent you a large bunch of roses but can't find any address for you. You did a grand job, under some difficult situations.

Missing you all. Patricia and Connor.

Dear Patricia and Connor

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your thanks to the District Nursing Team that cared for your father. I have passed on your kind words and the team really appreciate you taking the time to do this.

They and I would like to pass on our condolences on your sad loss.

Kind regards

Liz Penn
Service Manager for Long Term Conditions

I was admitted to hospital on the 26-6-15 with a crushed calf and a hematoma. I was discharged on the 2-7-15.The follow up aftercare was rather poor to say the least with me having to make several phone calls to get a nurse to visit me (bearing in mind that they had no information of me or my condition) I had to repeat this a few times more to get other visits. I was readmitted to hospital again on the 8-7-15 my haematoma had worsened . I am a living being not a machine awaiting a serviceable part. The lack of communication and your ability to deal with my situation frightens me. If proper care was taken I might not have to have been readmitted to hospital

Dear Gordon

I am sorry to hear that you have been experiencing communication problems with the District Nursing Service. The Forum Lead has been working with you to address this issue and has now visited and assessed your nursing needs and agreed a plan of care with you.

Once again, please accept our apologies and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment.

Kind regards

Chris Rawlings
Head of Greenwich Integrated Community Teams

My mother was released from hospital two weeks ago with a referral to the District Nursing team. When we had not heard anything after a few days we called the central access team who had no record of it. The hospital sent the referral again and called the central access team. Still no contact and no record when we called. After another referral from the hospital still there was still no contact from the District Nursing team. Finally the central access team have told us we should see the GP and get a referral.

Thankfully my mothers condition is not so serious (although she can't get out of the house) and she has family to chase things for her. Heaven only know what could happen to an elderly person needing care with no one to look out for them. You certainly can't rely on this service to do that!

Dear Warren

Thank you for raising your concern, and for taking the time to email me and to talk to me on the telephone.

As we discussed, the district nursing service had not received the referral form that the hospital had sent. Thank you for giving me the details of the nurse in charge who I have now spoken to. The contact details she had were all correct, so I do not know why the referral was not received.

I’m glad that the specialist team were able to contact your mother and make an appointment to see her. Both you and your mother have the contact details for the specialist team, so please do not hesitate to contact them directly if you need to make any changes to the appointment date or time.

Thank you for saying that I had dealt with your concern quickly, if I can be of any help in the future please do not hesitate to contact me again.

Kind regards

Liz Penn
Service Manager for Long Term Conditions

My dad had a hip replacement on Saturday 31st October was released from hospital on Monday a district nurse was meant to come round to his home on the Tuesday but didn't receive the paper work from the hospital which we was informed when my mum called Tuesday evening someone then arrange to come round on the Wednesday (the wound has not been changed or cleaned since leaving the hospital on Monday morning) my dad is now on strong antibiotics because of an infection. they phoned on Wednesday and Said they are not sure if they can make it today and if my dad who has just had a hip replacement could go to them even though he is house bound at the moment. My dad made this clear that it isn't good enough and they said they would make sure they came round that day, it got to 5:30pm and my mum called them again and they said they might be running late but someone will be there today no one turned. so my mum phoned them again today (Thursday) at 10 am they said someone will come today and no one has turned up yet! The infection seems to of got worse and the burning is now down to the ankle can you please advise what is going on and when someone will actually be round.

Kind regards Sophie

Dear Sophie

I was sorry to hear that your father had been experiencing problems obtaining a visit from the District Nursing Service.

Further to my telephone call to you today, I understand that your father has now had a visit from the district nurses and more visits are planned.

Once again, please accept our apologies on behalf of the service and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. If I can be of any further help, please do not hesitate to contact me on 020 8319 7111.

Kind regards

Chris Rawlings
Head of Integrated Teams

I am contacting you in relation to my husband and his continence issues, we have seen the continence nurse before his condition worsenned and he has since had a catheter fitted in hospital,since he has come out of hospital he has been told by the district nurse that he will be supplied with a night stand and some leg straps,he has only 2. Have these been ordered? When can he expect to get them?

Thank you for speaking to me today. The community nurse will be in touch today to discuss the catheter supplies that are required.

If you have any further concerns please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards

Connie Greig
Head of Integrated Teams
Tel: 020 8319 7111

I tried to refer an elderly patient for leg dressing today on 28/11/15 morning. I am from OOH Bexley. I was told by reception after she spoke to Melanie D/N ,to send written referral by fax or e mail and declined to take a referral over telephone. I do not have an e mail for OOH so I am unable to refer by e mail and to write a letter and fax is very time consuming. For all these years D/N have taken OOH referral on telephone. May I request to know why this has changed and why a telephone referral can not be taken- it is an effective way of working. This makes it hard for a busy OOH GP to write a referral and fax- when this can be easily sorted over telephone. In today's day and age- we should have every possible option available to us and we should make a smooth referral pathway for doctors and patients for a quick and a smooth journey for patients. I am very frustrated with the service today. I await to hear from you.

Dear Dr Chaturvedi

Thank you for bringing this incident to my attention. I understand that Austin Alpha, Head of Integrated Teams has spoken to you and explained that while in the interest of patient safety we prefer to have written referrals with all the pertinent details clearly written, we do recognise that occasionally this is not possible for the referrer. A telephone referral between GP and Community nurse, in these instances may be acceptable.

I apologies for any inconvenience caused to you or the patient you were referring, and if you would like to discuss this further then please do not hesitate to contact me on 020 8319 7154.

Kind regards

Liz Penn
Head of Long Term Conditions

Very unhappy with the district nursing service. I was due a visit for post operative dressing care. At 30 weeks pregnant, I am quite anxious in making sure that my health in my priority. However, despite calling at midday, having waited in since 8am, on the day of my allotted visit, and the staff chasing the nurses to visit me, they still failed to make an appearance, and at 5pm was told the nurses have all gone home! I was then told that I would have to wait for the twilight service, between 6-11pm, but they can't tell me a time as its a slot. I understand how the DN service works, as I have worked in the derive for another trust, and am extremely upset at how I have been treated.
I will be following this up with a complaint about this service, as it has caused a lot of stress at a time in my life when I shouldn't be worrying about anything other than my baby.

I wouldn't recommend this service at all, as it seems patients can easily slip through the cracks, leaving people vulnerable.

Dear Victoria

Thank you for taking the time to contact us, I am very sorry to learn of your experience.

It will be helpful to discuss your concerns further and I can be contacted on 020 8319 7154. I will ensure that your concerns are fully investigated and the outcome is fed back to you.

kind regards

Liz Penn
Head of Long Term Conditions

Very unhappy once again with your operation of the flu jab service for housebound Bexley residents. Our GP notifies us that the year's flu jabs are available in September each year. I Tell them my 88 year old mum is housebound and they pass the information to you. Too often, nothing then happens for months. It is now December and we have heard nothing this year. Indeed in two of the last three years mum has not been vaccinated until the New Year. I have been told you give priority to residents in care homes, which is fair enough. However you have presumably been commissioned to provide a service to all local residents. I suspect that your current policy leaves large numbers of individual elderly people across Bexley and Greenwich without information or inoculation and you either do not know or do not care how widespread any problems with this service are.

Dear Peter

Thank you for raising this concern. As discussed on the telephone I will look into this and contact you with an update later in the week.

In the meantime if you wish to contact me please do not hesitate, either by telephone 020 8319 7154 or by email lpenn@nhs.net

Kind regards

Liz
Head of Long Term Conditions

Dear Peter

As discussed on the telephone I can confirm that the referral from your mother's GP was received yesterday morning the 12th December 2017. This will now be passed to the district nursing team who will contact your mother and arrange a convenient time to visit.

I appreciate that you notified your GP in September that your mother would like to receive the flu vaccination, and as discussed I will add this to our feedback sheet when we meet to discuss this years flu vaccination programme with the CCG in the new year.

Please do not hesitate to contact me again if there is anything else I can help with.

Kind regards

Liz

Tell us what you think

Your contact details:

Comments will be moderated and published on this website.

Your telephone number and email address are required in case we need to contact you directly. These details are treated in the strictest confidence and will not be shared with any third-parties.